We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt the love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1171 Riverview Way, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Big Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Felt the love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our group had the best experience here. We consisted of three youth hockey teams and families. The staff went out of their way to accommodate all of us. The kids and parents had a wonderful time.

Pros: Great location that is close to everything in the Soo. Good rates. Excellent staff. Nice pool area. Breakfast was excellent.

Cons: Standard rooms are a bit cramped. Exercise room is really cramped.

I would stay here every opportunity I had when in the Soo.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSMHIE, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Liane C,
We are very pleased to hear that your teams enjoyed your stay with us and had such a wonderful experience. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, as this an essential tool used to ensure our guests are receiving the high quality service they deserve.

We know that our exercise room is small, so we do offer complementary passes to Lake Superior State University's Student Activity Center, as well. These can be checked out from the front desk staff.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you have a tournament in our area.

Sincerely,
Tressa
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    59
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
55
39
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We arrived at this hotel at about 8 pm after a long day’s drive. We were greeted by friendly staff and were checked in quickly. The lobby had a nice fireplace with a very interesting library with history books covering many of the states. The breakfast area in this hotel is roomy and overlooks the pool.
The room was inviting with the usual amenities plus a bar fridge – handy for storing snacks and water that needs to be kept cold plus a small freezer for freezer packs. Beds were comfortable and included a variety of pillows. The area where the hotel is located is largely undeveloped and is, therefore, quiet. We had a good nights sleep. The fixed shower nozzle had several settings and the usual personal hygiene amenities were provided.
The breakfast area was very roomy with the selections spread out on a long counter. There were a number of cold options and hot eggs and meats. There was also a neat pancake maker. You just pushed one button and about 2 minutes later a fresh pancake came out over some rollers and onto your plate.
While at breakfast, I used the internet. There was an issue signing on that I got help with at the front desk. I was a little confused by the number of wireless hook up options, none of which matched the instructions on the sheet they provide you with at check in.
Check out was quick and easy with the final bill slipped under the door overnight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSMHIE, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear mannycanuck,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for us, we value your opinion and use this to ensure we are providing guests with the high quality service they deserve.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will stay with us again, if you ever return to the area.

Thank you again,
Tressa
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great location next to International Bridge crossing! This place was perfectly clean and well maintained! Room was perfect (which I seldom say in any review!). Staff was most friendly and accomodating I've met yet:) This is my new home for future business trips to The Soo...thanks HIE! By the way..15degrees outside and the breakfast area was very comfortable...not sure what the people w the next review are talking about!?! (Maybe they sat outside:))

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat802, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Michigtraveler,
We appreciate that you took the time to submit a review for us, as this is our way of ensuring we are providing our guests with the high quality standards they deserve. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Tressa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very nice property from outside and as you enter.
Big surprise for breakfast because of poor design (would be fine in Florida!).Double sliding doors facing north are not good in November. Almost everyone eating breakfast was wearing extra layers of clothing. It was so uncomfortable we checked out and spent the 2nd night of the weekend at another hotel in the Sault.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Rob W,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize you were not satisfied with our breakfast selections and any inconvenience you may have experienced that fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, IL
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

When our busload arrived we were greeted with warm cookies, punch & welcoming smiles. Our room was very comfortable, Breakfast with their hot cinnamon rolls & other hot dishes was great! It's been a long time since I've stayed at any Holiday Inn property, and never at an HI Express before. They've come a long way!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat802, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Bearded_bard,
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, as we use this information to ensure we are providing our guests with the high standards they deserve. Please keep us in mind if you ever return to the Sault Ste Marie area for another visit.

Sincerely,
Tressa (G.E.C.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. I had a meeting in the conference room at the hotel. Normally I stay on the "strip" where there are more options for entertainment but I decided to try out this hotel. Ended up being a very nice stay. The room was quiet and comfortable. I am not a big breakfast person but decided to try it - biscuits and gravy were awesome and the staff was attending to the buffet constantly. All of the staff were very pleasant. You will need to drive for dinner if since there is nothing really close by but if you have already eaten this will be a great stay for you. Just ask the front desk and they will recommend plenty of options and give directions if you do feel like taking a drive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A very nice, quiet hotel. Except for a minor build up of "gunk" in some corners, very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good coffee and very good cinnamon rolls for breakfast. Just a little off the beaten track, but worth the effort. Recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 1171 Riverview Way, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps form Lake Superior State University, minutes from the Soo Locks, and St. Mary s river let Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan fulfill all your lodging needs. You can relax knowing we offer a broad range of services and amenities featuring our Express Start Breakfast Bar. Our large elegant lobby features a library with a relaxing sitting area where you can read in front of our exquisite fireplace. For the recreationally inclined, we offer an on site fitness room with modern equipment, as well as a heated indoor Pool and Spa. We are located within miles of DonDee Bowling Lanes, Agawa Canon Train Tours, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, and only 20 minutes from Chippewa County International Airport (CIU). We are delighted to provide you with exceptional service while you savor the historical Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Holiday Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.