We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd. Stay Here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1171 Riverview Way, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Thunder Bay
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“2nd. Stay Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here about a year ago..and enjoyed first stay so we came back...rooms still comfortable and clean..good WI-FI connection..did not have the time to try the breakfast bar this time..good value for your money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    57
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
54
38
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel was clean, had a good breakfast, looked nice in the lobby and room....but when we arrived we were placed in a room right over the lobby entrance which was not cool I'm sure they had other rooms available. Also the air conditioner did not work so we were transferred to another room right next to the one we just had (still over lobby entrance no view). This air condition kinda worked but did not get the room cool like we like (64 F). Overall this hotel was very warm (lobby and rooms). They need to turn the heat down.

Room Tip: Get one that has a good working air conditioner. 2nd floor above the lobby entrance does not have g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I'd say this hotel is actually between "Average" and "Very Good" but that's not an option in the overall rating. The staff was courteous and our room was ready early which was nice after a long drive. My only real complaint was that our room was quite small...it was pretty cramped with all the furniture and we were a family traveling. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was good, although the pancake maker was out of order which was disappointing for the kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was out final stop on our trip to the UP. The hotel is just off I 75 and very close to the Lake Superior State campus. There are several gas stations and a McDonalds nearby.

It's a busy hotel but we found the front staff pleasant and courteous. Check out the room guide to restaurants in the area since you can get coupons to several places if you ask at the front desk.

Room was clean and comfortable. Pool looks nice but we didn't have a chance to use it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I visited this hotel for work in August. The hotel is located just off I75 and next to the college campus. A McDonalds is located just next door as well. The hotel is newer and modern and I found my room to be clean and smelling fresh. They offer a full breakfast, for free, in the morning that inlcuded: eggs, sausage, gravy, biscuits, pancakes, juice, coffee, muffins, rolls, fruit and bagels. It was a nice surprise. The pool area is off the lobby which made the floors a little slippery, but that would be my only negative thing to say about this nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The room overlooked the Canadian Bridge and the Soo Locks. It was clean, comfortable and the staff was friendly. The continental breakfast was very hot and had lots of variety from warm pancakes, egg omelets, toast, bagels, cereal, yogurt, biscuits & gravy, coffee, danishes, etc. The front desk clerks were busy but helpful. Again, the view was spectacular. Although its right across from the college, which we liked, it is away from downtown and area shopping. There is a shuttle from the hotel to the local Kewadin Casino, but we did not need it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Canadian side, toward the Soo Locks is a nice view. Easy exit on and off the highwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I booked 3 rooms, and after a 5h drive i was at the hotel 1p, @ check-in i was not greeted as a pc member nor was requested to show ID and the weird thing was WITHOUT EVEN CHECKING ON THE COMPUTER, fd said your rooms are not ready even thou I had requested early check in but how would he know if he don’t read comments on the reservations!!!! FD (Mike) was rude, with 0 hospitality experience!!!!! So waited at the lobby for another 1h to get into my room, then we checked in and we paid cash for 2 rooms and cc for the third room but my cc was authorized 2 times and when I went back to the fd for an explanation, they couldn’t do anything about it, didn’t care much. But offered me an extra 15min to swim at the pool after all this!!! The next day I check my account I see a third authorization on my cc!!! So I go to lobby and requested to talk to the manager to see what is she going to do about it, and when I said your hotel authorized my cc 3 times, the Hotel manager was no difference than her staff, she freaked out, she was rude, she had no idea what is going on, offered no help no compensation, AND DID NOT EVEN SAY SORRY, i was really dispointed from all this so i said i will complain to corporate , She simply and in front of other guests said I’m offering you NOTHING!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Sam A,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 1171 Riverview Way, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps form Lake Superior State University, minutes from the Soo Locks, and St. Mary s river let Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan fulfill all your lodging needs. You can relax knowing we offer a broad range of services and amenities featuring our Express Start Breakfast Bar. Our large elegant lobby features a library with a relaxing sitting area where you can read in front of our exquisite fireplace. For the recreationally inclined, we offer an on site fitness room with modern equipment, as well as a heated indoor Pool and Spa. We are located within miles of DonDee Bowling Lanes, Agawa Canon Train Tours, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, and only 20 minutes from Chippewa County International Airport (CIU). We are delighted to provide you with exceptional service while you savor the historical Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Holiday Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.