We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food and Across the Road from the Locks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karl's Cuisine

Karl's Cuisine
447 W. Portage Ave, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1989
+1 906-253-1900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Winery, Coffee Shop, Healthy, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Karl's Cuisine is a full-service restaurant, winery and catering company, in Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan with a spectacular view of the Sault Locks.Whether seated inside or outside on the upper deck at Karl's Cuisine Café, enjoy delicious, fresh, and wholesome luncheon and dinner meals in a casual, comfortable atmosphere.Need a special meal for a corporate lunch or business meeting? Karl's Cuisine Catering offers signature dishes delivered to your door.Sample Superior Coast wines -- a unique and delectable collection offered at Karl's Cuisine Café' – and choose a favorite to accent your dinner.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Across the Road from the Locks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The food was excellent! We all and something different and sampled from each others' plates. From the soup through the dessert, the food and service was the best on our trip! Karl's wife, I am horrible remembering names, treated us like family.

If you are traveling to SSM, Karl's Cuisine should be at the top of your list!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    55
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Local Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stopped for lunch and we had the beef pasty and the BBQ pork sandwich with the apple butter on it. I know, sounds weird. I almost didn't order it, but SO glad I did. It was delicious! We are going to try it this way the next time we make BBQ pork at home! Can't wait till our next visit to come back to this nice restaurant! Here's a link for the menu: http://www.karlscuisine.com/lunch

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“surprisingly gourmet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Hands down the best restaurant in the Soo! It was obvious that there is a great local following as they were packed out during the dead season. The salmon and whitefish we're delicious and their own Merlot has a very smooth finish. Make sure you save room for dessert. The Italian Wedding Cake was very light and refreshing. We will definitely be back! Thanks Karl!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Locally Recommended Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel we stayed at recommended Karl's Cuisine as a great place to dine that had a wide range of offerings. We stopped in for dinner after a long road trip. Our waitress (I think her name is Megan, sorry if I forgot) made some great recommendations not only for meals but also for wine pairings. My wife had the shiraz sirloin stroganoff that was served with homemade egg noodles which was fantastic. I had the breaded planked Walleye with red potatoes which was equally delicious. We shared a pastry wrapped raspberry brie appetizer that was scrumptious. After our long drive it was relaxing to have such a great meal at affordable prices with outstanding service. If you're in the Sault Ste Marie area. Make sure to stop by you won't be disappointed. Thanks to everyone at Karl's.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“on recommendation from locals.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

It was a nice place to eat. good selection of different foods. The four of us in our party all had different selections and everyone enjoyed the food.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl's Cuisine also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Karl's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karl's Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.