We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4404 I-75 Bus. Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We phoned ahead and made a reservation for two nights and were promptly checked in when we arrived. It wasn't long before we discovered our room in the back of the motel shared a wall with the elevator. The desk clerk claimed she had no more king rooms except for one in the front half of the motel that had been a smoking room up to 3 months ago. I assume that's when they changed to a 100% non-smoking. She offered a key so we could inspect it and a can of air freshener if we wanted it. To our surprise, the room was larger, nicer and more modern than the one we had in the back. The "old smoke" smell was somewhat noticeable but bearable with the air freshener and the window opened as well so we took the room. After looking around, it was apparent that this is an older hotel with a newer section added on the front. It has an indoor pool, a breakfast room, two computers for the use of guests, and a courtyard surrounded by the two halves of the hotel. The breakfast is identical to most hot/cold buffet motel breakfast bars. An Applebees is next door but I'd recommend going down the street to the Great Wall and doing their $14 dinner buffet or driving to the Soo Lock area downtown and eating at the Lockview Restaurant with the locals and other tourists. This is not the newest hotel in the area -- there were several obviously newer motels about a mile down the street if the newest is something that matters. Our bed was very comfortable and I was impressed with the white fleece blanket and multitude of pillows on our king bed. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom and they were soft, not threadbare. What didn't impress me was the fact that the carpet was not vacuumed during our two-day stay and I'm not sure it had been vacuumed before we arrived. Neither were the wastebaskets emptied and the bedspread had multiple stains. Not knowing what the other motels cost, this might not have been that good of a bargain.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    17
    7
    16
See reviews for
13
12
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

We were travelling to a funeral in Thunder Bay from Brampton. The compassionate rate we were given was $118.00/tax. The rooms are average at best with small bathrooms and a tiny television with a limited amount of channels. The continental breakfast is basically muffins, cereal or toast and fruit in a basket. There is a lack of outlets to plug cell phones,laptops, cameras,etc.. into.
I'd hate to see the regular rates for these rooms. We stayed at the Hampton Inn at Elliot Lake on the way home for $119.00/tax which was so much better.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding your visit. I have shared your feedback to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Sault Sainte Marie.

Kind Regards,


Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

well we stayed at comfort in in sault saint marie we were camping but got rained out of our tent. The checkin time is kind of late so we had to hang around the rooms are nice and clean and the beds are comfortable they do have computers with internet but you cant use them long and they are really slow the hot breakfast was suprisingly good for a hotel frozen food better and its good to keep you going in a long day of sight seeing it has a convient location walking distance from several stores and fast food resturant all in all comfort inn was a life saver

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, WI
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Stayed 2 nights and the double queen beds in the room we first had were very uncomfortable so the manager moved us to a suite with a sofa sleeper and it was a little better but the water in that shower took a while to warm up. Stay with caution.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Ontario
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

For $70, it was hard to complain about this hotel. The location is very convenient next to shopping and restaurants. One complaint might be the cheap construction that meant every step was heard from the floor above. Also the TV reception was not the greatest and the remote control didn't work well.
The room was clean, (no bed bugs), it had a fridge, microwave, excellent wireless Internet and a reasonable continental breakfast including make your own waffles.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

There is nothing good to say about this hotel. What you pay is what you get. On our return trip from Mackinac Island we stayed here for one night, and after laying on the bed for 2 hours I noticed these black spots on the white sheets. My husband kept telling me it was probably lint, but I kept telling him it wasn't. When I was examinig them under the light, you could tell they were bugs, They had little antennas. We were collecting them and dropping them into a plastic cup. When the last one hit the bottom of the cup, it actually made a sound when hitting the bottom. That's when my husband agreed with me. I believe they came from the carpet, but I'm not sure. The front desk clerk gave us another room, with this ugly and scratched pink jaccuzzi tub. Very disappointed

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2008
Please allow me to respond to this guest review. Being employed at the Comfort Inn for 8 years and the General Manager for the last 4, I can assure everyone that our property does not have and never has had "bugs" in our rooms. During the spring, summer and fall months, this property is routinely sprayed to prevent such occurances. When this incident was reported I had our pest control agent inspect the premises and he found no traces of kind of any kind bug or their leavings not only in the room these guests were in but also adjacent rooms as well as any room on the property.
We take great pride in the cleanliness and appearance of our Comfort Inn and have earned the Exceptional Hotel Status as awarded by Choice Hotels International.
We have just finished an extensive renovation project including new linens, furniture and carpeting. We welcome the opportunity to be your home away from home and will make every effort to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of service.
Thank you for allowing me to respond.
Joan Ojala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion,IN
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

After my experience at the Quality Inn down the road, I was hoping for much better at the Comfort Inn. I was very pleasantly surprised with cleanliness and size of the room. It had a king bed that was very comfy, a microwave & fridge, and a nice sofa for watching TV. The breakfast was really superior with waffles, cereal and plenty of bread, muffins, etc. If you are not into the pool scene you might ask for a room away from the pool as it can be noisy. Although the 11:00pm closure is enforced it can be hard to hear TV or relax with the pool noise outside the window.

  • Liked — The size and cleanliness of the room and hotel. Nice breakfast.
  • Disliked — Being close to the pool.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 4404 I-75 Bus. Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Location: United States > Michigan > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn, a Sault Sainte Marie hotel near Lake Superior State UniversityThe Comfort Inn® hotel is located in beautiful, historic Sault Sainte Marie, MI and minutes from the St. Mary's River and the International Bridge, which provides easy access to Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario. Located within three miles of the hotel are the Soo Locks, Agawa Canyon Train Tour, and many restaurants and museums. The hotel is only 18 miles from Chippewa County International Airport (CIU). We are located off Interstate 75, right next door to Applebee's Neighborhood Grill and Bar, Buffalo Wild Wings, and only two miles from Lake Superior State University (LSSU). We offer you the finest lodging needs at the most northern point in the Eastern Upper Peninsula (EUP). Snowmobilers have direct trail access via a nearby groomed trail during the winter months. Bowling teams can visit Dondee Lanes bowling center, just one-half mile away. This Sault Sainte Marie hotel has free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, a private courtyard and picnic area, and a large elegant lobby. Additional hotel amenities include: •Exercise room •Indoor heated pool and hot tub •Meeting room •Pets welcome •Interior corridors Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Coffee makers, irons and ironing boards are included in all rooms. Some rooms come equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Large suites with partially divided sleeping and sitting areas are offered. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service while you enjoy our Comfort Inn hotel in Sault Sainte Marie, known as "The Gathering Place." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Comfort Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.