We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs in my bed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4404 I-75 Bus. Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Sudbury, Ontario
1 review
“Bed bugs in my bed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

There is nothing good to say about this hotel. What you pay is what you get. On our return trip from Mackinac Island we stayed here for one night, and after laying on the bed for 2 hours I noticed these black spots on the white sheets. My husband kept telling me it was probably lint, but I kept telling him it wasn't. When I was examinig them under the light, you could tell they were bugs, They had little antennas. We were collecting them and dropping them into a plastic cup. When the last one hit the bottom of the cup, it actually made a sound when hitting the bottom. That's when my husband agreed with me. I believe they came from the carpet, but I'm not sure. The front desk clerk gave us another room, with this ugly and scratched pink jaccuzzi tub. Very disappointed

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort4404, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2008
Please allow me to respond to this guest review. Being employed at the Comfort Inn for 8 years and the General Manager for the last 4, I can assure everyone that our property does not have and never has had "bugs" in our rooms. During the spring, summer and fall months, this property is routinely sprayed to prevent such occurances. When this incident was reported I had our pest control agent inspect the premises and he found no traces of kind of any kind bug or their leavings not only in the room these guests were in but also adjacent rooms as well as any room on the property.
We take great pride in the cleanliness and appearance of our Comfort Inn and have earned the Exceptional Hotel Status as awarded by Choice Hotels International.
We have just finished an extensive renovation project including new linens, furniture and carpeting. We welcome the opportunity to be your home away from home and will make every effort to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of service.
Thank you for allowing me to respond.
Joan Ojala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    19
    9
    20
See reviews for
15
13
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion,IN
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

After my experience at the Quality Inn down the road, I was hoping for much better at the Comfort Inn. I was very pleasantly surprised with cleanliness and size of the room. It had a king bed that was very comfy, a microwave & fridge, and a nice sofa for watching TV. The breakfast was really superior with waffles, cereal and plenty of bread, muffins, etc. If you are not into the pool scene you might ask for a room away from the pool as it can be noisy. Although the 11:00pm closure is enforced it can be hard to hear TV or relax with the pool noise outside the window.

  • Liked — The size and cleanliness of the room and hotel. Nice breakfast.
  • Disliked — Being close to the pool.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

We just returned from a two night stay and thought the accomodations were very nice. We had stayed at the Super 8 three or four years ago and were terribly disappointed so we were wary of the area hotels. We had a room with a king bed, microwave, and refrigerator. The breakfast was very nice; the staff kept everything full. You could make real waffles, which were delicious. I would definitely stay here again and the location was great.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2005

We stayed at this Comfort inn because it was convenient to the Interstate and price was OK. It was about standard for Comfort Inns. The room was OK but the sheets on the bed were really worn out. The bottom sheets were as thin as sheer curtains and there were two thin mattress pads under the thin sheet. One was a lot smaller than the bed and neither could be anchored. The straps were torn. Becuse of this we slid around all night and the mattress pads kept bunching up under the sheet. It wasn't very comfortable. The hotel offers a "Hot and Continental Breakfast". The hot part was scrambled eggs, sausage and biscuits and gravy. All were good. However, the pastry that was available for the Continental Breakfast was pre-packaged Danish. Not very tempting. No fresh fruit. In all, it was good but not as good as we had been led to believe. The pool was not working when we arrived. Wireless Internet access was available, but did not always work correctly. I would probably stay there again, with hopefully a newer set of sheets.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 4404 I-75 Bus. Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn, a Sault Sainte Marie hotel near Lake Superior State UniversityThe Comfort Inn® hotel is located in beautiful, historic Sault Sainte Marie, MI and minutes from the St. Mary's River and the International Bridge, which provides easy access to Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario. Located within three miles of the hotel are the Soo Locks, Agawa Canyon Train Tour, and many restaurants and museums. The hotel is only 18 miles from Chippewa County International Airport (CIU). We are located off Interstate 75, right next door to Applebee's Neighborhood Grill and Bar, Buffalo Wild Wings, and only two miles from Lake Superior State University (LSSU). We offer you the finest lodging needs at the most northern point in the Eastern Upper Peninsula (EUP). Snowmobilers have direct trail access via a nearby groomed trail during the winter months. Bowling teams can visit Dondee Lanes bowling center, just one-half mile away. This Sault Sainte Marie hotel has free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, a private courtyard and picnic area, and a large elegant lobby. Additional hotel amenities include: •Exercise room •Indoor heated pool and hot tub •Meeting room •Pets welcome •Interior corridors Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Coffee makers, irons and ironing boards are included in all rooms. Some rooms come equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Large suites with partially divided sleeping and sitting areas are offered. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service while you enjoy our Comfort Inn hotel in Sault Sainte Marie, known as "The Gathering Place." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Comfort Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.