We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, but just your average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
4335 I-75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Chicago, NW burbs
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great staff, but just your average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Hotel was heavily booked, so had to take a Queen fireplace/jacuzzi room (at a higher price) - don't recommend this at all. Fireplace took-up a lot of room, but couldn't even see-it when laying in bed.
Jacuzzi tub was your average-sized tub, but all the jets took-up a lot of the floor space. If you normally just shower, this was a hassle.
Breakfast was good, plenty of hot options and dedicated staff making sure tables were clean and food was well-supplied.
Would give 4-stars, but it's just off the highway, on the edge of town, so nothing overly special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    89
    22
    3
    5
See reviews for
77
80
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. This hotel is very convieniently located, just off the interstate and across the street from shopping. The lobby area was big and bright, the elevator was fast, and the hallways were clean. The room was not really big, but it did have a small refrigerator and microwave which was convienient.
There is no whirlpool, but there is a sauna. The pool area was ok. There was a seating area outside the pool that had a swing and picnic tables. This was a nice area to sit outside and enjoy the evening, but there is no view.
The breakfast area is small and crowded. There are two meeting rooms on the second floor located just steps from the elevator.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here on a trip to the UP on the motorcycle. The staff was extremely nice and the hotel was VERY easty to find and convenient. They are very bike friendly and allowed me to park my bike right outside the front door. The rooms were very clean, confortable and spacious. This is my favorite starting point for exploring the UP on two wheels!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Best Western for one night during a week long visit to the UP. The room was spacious, which was good for spreading out and repacking all of our many bags. The fridge in the room was a nice plus. Good for storing leftovers after a dinner out.

The decor in the room was blah, though. The sofa sleeper in our room had definitely seen better days and was a bit tattered around the edges. The bed is VERY firm and it was hard to get a good nights sleep. The pillows are also very fluffy and overstuffed. If you are at all picky about your pillow, bring your own along.

Breakfast was a mixed bag. The make your own waffles were delicious, but the other hot entrees were disgusting. The "eggs" were chunky and were sitting in a pool of liquid when we got down to breakfast. The gravy was pretty solid -- definitely not something that could be poured over biscuits. We got to breakfast a little after 9, though. Things might have been better earlier on, before they had a chance to sit around.

The hotel also has a pool, a sauna and a decent sized workout room, though we didn't get a chance to use any of those facilities during our brief stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Room was stuffy with a/c on full. Pool area was in need of a refresh and also stuffy. Staff was nice, but overall experience was forgettable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, MI
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have stayed at this Best Western several times and found it to be reliable good. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a nice selection of items in the breakfast room and the pool is large, wonderfully warm and open 24 hours. The location is minutes from the famous Soo Locks attraction.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very happy with our stay. I thought the motel was brand new but the desk clerk told me it was built 17 years ago. You'd never know it. Everything is very modern and very clean. Apparently they have invested in continuously modernizing -- and it shows.

Desk clerk and breakfast buffet servicer were very nice and helpful. Hot buffet breakfast was standard and very complete. Plenty of restaurants and fast foods nearby.

Would stay here again. All this and a great price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 4335 I-75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Best Western Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.