We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4335 I-75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Still a Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We have stayed here multiple times and it is still a very good hotel. The rooms are quiet and clean. The entire hotel is clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good and they have expanded seating in the lobby area. The only two things that I didn't care for was the bathroom fan was very loud and stayed on as long as you had the light on. Also the lobby area was much too cold. I mentioned this to the staff and they said it was 74 degrees though it felt more like in the 60s. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    96
    23
    3
    5
See reviews for
85
85
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I'm a real stickler for cleanliness in rooms, the first thing I do is take the sheet off at the corner of the bed and make sure the mattress is clean-- I am also a nut about smells in rooms. I can tell you that I wished I had booked this hotel for more nights! It was extremely clean, smelled clean and every part of the room was sparkling! I had requested a quiet room, and it was granted. No worries. I asked about dinner, and got a great rec' from the front desk. I was even forewarned that there was construction on the main streets and the gentleman on the desk gave me a map and directions on how to avoid it.
Had a delicious and memorable whitefish dinner at the Lockview. Breakfast was busy, but efficient and we had plenty of food to choose from. This was our third week of traveling on the road to vacation spots, and I will definitely come back and stay longer next time!!
Not located on the main drag shops and dining, but it's a 5 min drive -- and a strip mall for all your needs is across the street. A keeper!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed here for a brief vacation. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. The rooms were sparkling clean and the breakfast was delicious. This is the best hotel in Sault Ste Marie. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past few years when visiting the Sault Ste Marie area with my family. Both times I have been very pleased with the experience. The room is always very clean and well kept, as is the rest of the hotel. The pool is one of the best I have ever used, very large, clean and at a good temperature. The staff is very friendly and willing to accomodate any requests. In addition, the rate has always been an excellent value. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sault Ste Marie.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible using the internet; I received an excellent rate both times doing this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is the 3rd summer we have stayed at this hotel when we visited the Soo Locks. Again we found this hotel to be perfect. Our room was spotless. Hotel staff very helpful. The hotel was full so the breakfast bar was definitely a challenge for the staff but everything was kept full and tidy. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We were returning from a long day trip from South Baymouth on Manatoulin Island. We were very tired and knew this was highly rated in TripAdvisor. There are two sections to this property: the newer is the one featured in the photos. It is also priced almost twice as high as the rooms in the older section across the parking lot. Given the choice of a $140 room vs a $75 room, we opted for the latter and it was just fine. The room was definitely older and could use some updating. It was clean, had a minifridge and microwave (which we used). The surprise was the continental breakfast. Fresh waffles, eggs, cereal, etc. We were pleased with the breakfast. I tipped the attendant since she worked hard to keep everything up to par. Here is another tip: if your car uses diesel and is running low, fill up here if you're traveling south. I ran out of gas before hitting St Ignace. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We booked the Best Western based on other good reviews. This is our first trip to Sault Ste. Marie, so we can't compare to other hotels in the area, but by driving by them, I'm glad we chose BW. I agree with the other reviewers that this hotel is very clean and kept up. Our room was very clean, including the bathroom, which I can be picky about. No gross mold or dingy shower curtains. Everything looks new! While there is no iron, there is an in-room safe. The fridge and microwave came in handy too. I didn't go down to breakfast, but my husband said it was VERY clean and they had a good selection. The only minor complaint I would have is that the internet connection is slow and kicked me off quite a bit. Otherwise, this is a great hotel and I would stay here again when visiting the area.

Not related to the hotel, we overhead someone recommend a restaurant called the Freighters, so we went there for dinner. It was terrible. The food was only okay and there were only 2 servers. One seemed to be great but we had the other one and she made too many mistakes to list. The quality does not live up to the look of the place. We had better food and service at the little diner across from the locks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 4335 I-75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Best Western Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.