We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Iroquois Light Station

Point Iroquois Light Station
Lake Superior Shore, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
(906)635-5311
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had not ever thought about the work involved in being the keeper of a lighthouse. Besides being a job, this lighthouse was a family home and I really enjoyed seeing the family homes and reading the history. I wish that we would have had more time there. The view from the top of the lighthouse was wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Michigan
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Gorgeous lighthouse wrapped in autumn colors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We walked the grounds of the lighthouse and beach during a fall color drive along lovely Lake Shore Drive. In mid October, the colors were breathtaking and finding this lighthouse surrounded by them was a treat we didn't expect. Access to the lighthouse is easy and the grounds and buildings are well-maintained. Don't miss this or the drive between Brimley and Paradise. You won't be disappointed at any time of the year, autumn particularly! An extra we enjoyed: after watching two ships pass through the Soo locks "upbound" to Duluth, we caught the same ships passing by this lighthouse by the time we drove here. Amazing to see how quickly these great ships can move!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGSPORT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Michigan Lighthouse That's Easy To Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were last here in October 2012. And we had visited a few years before also. We stopped after visiting Whitefish Point Lighthouse and the Shipwreck Museum at Paradise. We were not able to make the climb to the top but managed to take lots of shots around the light and along the shore. I was also able to get a good digital telephoto shot of the windmills across the bay on the Canadian hillside. We love to visit Michigan's lighthouses whenever we can. This is worth the trip if you are in the area and are interested in lighthouses.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went to the light station because it was mentioned in a sight seeing book we had. I'm glad we went. We climbed up the 72 winding stairs to get a view of Saint Mary's River which is the only passageway between Lake Superior and the other Great Lakes. It was a good history lesson.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect stop on Lakeshore Scenic Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stopped here to see the lighthouse and its worth the drive. Pretty view, not too hard to climb, but very small area at top. Grounds are well maintained, nice boardwalk.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Iroquois Light Station also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Point Iroquois Light Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Iroquois Light Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.