We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the excellent reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Motor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sault Ste. Marie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plaza Motor Motel
Save
You added Plaza Motor Motel to your Saves list
3901 I-75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Vevay, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Believe the excellent reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place was clean, and it had very nice bathrooms. Although it was on a busy road, it was quiet. We reserved two rooms next to each other, and each had a different theme. The only downside was that you had to drive into town to see the sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
81
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
485 helpful votes 485 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at the Plaza Motor Motel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and wanting to find something different rather than stay at a chain. I am so glad I did. The room was large, exceptionally clean, quiet, convenient and the people in the office greeted me with a smile and helpful advice about the area. This place is great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Although this looks like your standard motel along a tourist strip, don't judge the book by its cover. We drove right up to our room 121 which was spotless and had everything we needed - a very nice room interior with two comfortable sitting chairs, a newly updated bathroom, wine refrigerator, microwave. Bed was comfortable and bed linens were clean (not linen service stiff or smelly). We brought and used our own pillows as hotel's were a bit soft for our tastes. Bathroom shower pressure was great, amenities adequate and nice updated sink and shower fixtures. Centrally located with plenty of fuel and fast food options nearby as well as a few full service restaurants. Very close to downtown to see the locks and better restaurant options. Good value for the money. Also supports a local owner - not chain or franchise!

Room Tip: Look at room pictures and descriptions on the hotels website! In our case the pictures were an accu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed two nights and had the pleasure to stay in two different rooms (we booked last minute but they still accommodated us!) Let me tell you how meticulously clean and beautifully decorated these rooms are - like professionals came in - right down to the wall decor and detailed stenciling, paint, available items (usually only at high end priced motels) such as iron/board, hair dryer, small safe, flat screen tv with "like home" furniture and furnishings right down to the linens, bed covers and window treatments. Another awesome note- EVERY room is decorated/furnished differently!! We were able to view some of the other rooms and they were all different - just as all our homes are different. This unique and incredibly smart concept truly makes you feel at home. Staff was so very kind and a pleasure to talk to. The amazing landscaping and wonderfully designed flowers on the outside perfectly mirrors the total attention to detail and comfort on the inside! They could charge triple for this value! EXCELLENT place to stay!! We will tell everyone we know and we will definitely be back! (We look forward to see how they have designed all the other rooms) Absolutely inviting!!!!!

Room Tip: Both of our rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was the best surprise on our trip...We walked into our room and was just impressed with the appointments. Not cheap motel stuff, really upscale everything and a great bed.
What a real pleasure to stay here..

If this was in NY city, it would go for $450 a night

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed one night and loved it! Rooms are charming and clean with attention to detail. The yard is lovely and inviting. My mother took her knitting to the gazebo and settled in a lounge chair while my daughter slept in the one nearby. Forget other places and stay here. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

When we pulled up in front of the motel,we were greeted with a beautiful dog sitting looking out the door. We found out his name is Rigley and he was watching for the mailman who always brings him a treat. The sweetest dog and so cute. The motel room was spotless and provided everything we needed. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and very well kept. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Motor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Motor Motel

Address: 3901 I-75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Motor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.