We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Motor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sault Ste. Marie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plaza Motor Motel
Save
You added Plaza Motor Motel to your Saves list
3901 I-75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

After a bit of a bumpy start, reservation confusion, stressed guest after a long drive and a very calm host! we had a nice stay in our very quiet clean room. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was beautifully updated. Lots of TLC in the care of this place. We will be back.

Room Tip: Book on line, it might eliminate the problem I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    33
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
97
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

For $74 a night, this place was a great value. The rooms are huge--we had a breakfast area as well as the bedroom area and the bathroom. Although an obviously older hotel, it is scrupulously maintained.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I found this motel through Tripadvisor. Our stay was the end of September, for we were doing the color train tour in Canada. The reviews were right on. The room was beautiful. Not a thing out of place. The family who runs it is very nice. Close to Walmart, McDonalds, and other restaurants. We had a truly wonderful stay and will be back when we are up in the Sault Ste Marie area again. Wonderful!

Room Tip: We stayed in 108. King room. Very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Unfortunately, so many of us have shared out wonderful experiences at Plaza Motor Motel, it is not easy to get a room! Fortunately, I booked long ahead for myself and friends: the day we checked in (we stayed for 2 nights) the owners were turning away a steady stream of people: no vacancy. I concur with everything said about Plaza Motor Motel: housekeeping is outstanding-your room sparkles with clean; the place is quiet; and the owners/managers live on site to make sure things run smoothly. Too cool for us to enjoy the gardens other than looking at them, but the care of plants is more than evident. My friends' room was recently renovated to include new bath fixtures: my room was not yet renovated and it shows-but then again, given the low rate of the room; the hospitality; and the peace and quiet offered, I could look past the wear and tear on the furntiure--I'm sure the room will be upgraded shortly! I've stayed here before: about 3 years ago and things at Plaza Motor Motel are still outstanding-I will return again--as long as I can get reservations!!

Room Tip: As for a newly renovated room if this is a concern for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

When we stayed at this place we felt like we were at home. The customer service was great. I guess we went right as peak season had ended so a lot of the town was closed- hotels and restaurants. That was strange to us at first, but then we kind of liked it. We only had to pay for two nights and got the third night free. The room was clean, unique, and cozy. I didn't like that we had booked a king size bed 3 months in advance then they said they upgraded us to a room with two beds since ours was taken. That not only gave us much smaller beds, but also took up more room. That was the most annoying thing. I loved that it was close to Wal Mart and a few restaurants. I love the cold weather and coziness tho. My fiance and I will stay here when we can. They never have any openings anymore! lol

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was blown away by the value of this little gem. The landscaping is fantastic! Our room was impeccably clean. The choice of decor wasn't exactly to our taste, but it was still refreshing to see that a great deal of care goes into keeping the rooms up-to-date. The clerk at the front desk was friendly and gave us great suggestions in town for things to see and places to eat. If we return to the area, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms are further away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I absolutely LOVED this place! When I booked on line (at the last minute) there were only a couple of rooms left. However the room we had was wonderful!! It looked brand new - the decor was excellent and the bathroom was exceptional with waterfall faucets and granite! I did not want to leave! I would definately recommend the Plaza Motor Motel for anyone staying in or near Sault Saint Marie!

Room Tip: Book on the internet to pick out your room, each room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 19 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soo Locks Lodge & Suites
Soo Locks Lodge & Suites
#12 of 19 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#7 of 19 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#8 of 19 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie
#9 of 19 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
3.5 mi away
Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre
Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Motor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Motor Motel

Address: 3901 I-75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Motor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.