We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a Jungle in the Antlers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Antlers Restaurant

The Antlers Restaurant
804 E Portage Ave, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-2442
906-253-1728
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Historic site across from the Sault Locks. Fun atmosphere withnumerous stuffed animals, antlers and memorabilia. Northerncuisine, and great Friday night fish fry and fun activities inthe evenings during the week. Banquet room available, can take groups up to 200. Casual fun family dining.
Pickering, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Its a Jungle in the Antlers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a great dining expierience at the Antlers. The food was well prepared and came exactally as ordered. The staff was very friendly and service was some of the best I have had in the UP.
All kinds of comfort food on the menu breakfast buffet on Sunday great value for the cost,
The decor (stuffed animals) is what makes this rest famous and I will be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    88
    40
    29
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Be sure to visit when in the Soo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The wait staff was very friendly and efficient. We both ordered ribs and were somewhat disappointed with the tenderness (lack of). Have eaten there before and should have stuck with a steak as in the past. Great atmosphere, if you're in the area be sure to try it....just maybe not the ribs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Antlers Restaurant in Sault Ste, Marie, Michigan is a very nice little place just outside of town. It is a family restaurant, and has many home-cooked style meals, at reasonable prices. The wait staff has always been pleasant, service is usually prompt, unless they are full, which is understandable.
Most recently I took my daughter and her friend there for lunch. I had the Venison Pie, which is a venison stew, which was amazing. My daughter had the "Brunswick Soo Stew Canoe" which was an order of chicken and dumplings served in a sourdough bread bowl. It too was fantastic.
As mentioned, there is a lot of taxidermy there. If you are not a fan, do not go there. But if that does not bother you, by all means, do not miss this restaurant!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The food at The Antlers Restaurant is good. The staff is very friendly. The experience can be slightly overwhelming if you are not a big fan of taxodermy, but nonetheless is a definte experience!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Basic bar food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My friend and I stopped on a Sunday afternoon AFTER the brunch was over. Thank goodness as the place was full of very LOUD kids. It cleared out as we were seated and we had a nice, quiet late lunch. I had the potato skins and a mushroom/Swiss burger with fries and my friend had the whitefish. We eat at many northern Michigan establishments and there was really nothing special (food wise) to set this place apart from anyplace else. Burger and skins were good and my friend said the whitefish was just ok and not as tasty as other places he orders it from. The décor inside is interesting and worth a stop if you are in town. This would be a cool place to stop and have a beer and watch the freighters go by to the locks but as far as food I would try other places in town to compare it with and then I may venture back here at some point. I guess I can say that I have had better, had worse.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Antlers Restaurant also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to The Antlers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Antlers Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.