We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Askwith Lockview Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sault Ste. Marie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Askwith Lockview Motel
Save
You added Askwith Lockview Motel to your Saves list
327 West Portage Avenue, P.O. Box 477, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is a charming, family-style motel right across from the locks in Sault Ste. Marie. The bed was comfortable; everything was clean; price was very reasonable and included a continental breakfast, which was basic but sufficient - mainly breads and coffee. There are several restaurants on the same street within a few blocks. We had a nice, freshly made pizza at one a few blocks down the street. Great place if you are looking for a great price and clean, fully adequate accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    49
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Erie, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed in one of the "cottage" units and were pleased with the facility. There was nothing special about the room, but it was clean and had adequate space for our needs. It included a refrigerator, and a small television that was positioned to the side of the room, making it less easily viewed by those in the far bed.
The location is directly across from the locks...so going to watch the ships arrive is a very short walk. The staff were pleasant. The continental breakfast offered a variety of pastries, breads and muffins, and you could create your own sausage & egg muffin breakfast using the toaster and microwave oven. Coffee/tea/juice were available.
Overall it was a pleasant experience and we would come again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimondale, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The room isn't bad for the money. Its nothing fancy but it comfortably fit the four of us. The beds are comfortable and nice. The bathroom could use a little work. When they created the layout they were not thinking about tall people. It was hard to sit on the toilet without my knees being in the wall. The shower is very nice. They had a nice size refrigerator, table and dresser to store things. House keeping did a good job minus the fact my niece left her stuffy on the pillow and they didn't make the bed cause of it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast they have isn't much to be desired. The donuts were a little under done. The place is also nicely located at the gift shop center of Sault Ste. Marie. I would stay here again. My only complaint would be the parking. They really need to have a better parking system.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Like so many motels in the Upper Peninsula, this one has been around a while. But thanks to a lot of careful maintenance and updating, the Lockview offers clean, comfortable rooms for a great price. We lucked out with a corner, 2nd-floor room with a view of the Soo Locks. Friendly staff and great service. Super location that puts you within a few blocks of all the attractions in Sault Ste. Marie.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The motel was located across the street from the Soo Locks. We had restaurants and shopping all around. Perfect location. Very clean rooms and great service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at Lockview for two nights after we had toured Lake Superior's north shore. In trying to economize a bit, we opted for the small cabin accommodation at a senior rate. It was quite reasonable. We arrived to a very friendly reception and picked up our key. As described, the room was tiny, and seriously wasn't large enough for a queen bed. We would have been happy for a double bed, that permitted the bathroom door to open all the way. We did some rearranging to suit our needs for a couple days and were really OK with the room. The disappointment came when we found, during the middle of the night, that the bed tilted. My husband felt like he was rolling downhill all night, and he had a poor night's sleep. When we described the problem the next morning, the daytime desk person seemed a bit miffed that we would complain about such a thing. We asked if maintenance could just leave a couple shims, which would hold us over one more night, since the bed itself was fine. We happened to be back briefly when the friendly maintenance guy was there, and together we discovered that the reason the bed tilted was because of a hole in the floor. The bed's caster had actually fallen into a hole. A bit of fussing with some bigger shims got us on a solid enough surface to remedy the problem of the deteriorating floor. We thought that the furnishings seemed new and in good repair, the bed itself was fine, the carpet and decorating was fresh in appearance, and we loved being able to drive right up to the door. Most of the staff was ultra friendly, and except for the fact that the floor seemed less than stable under the new carpet, we were satisfied. We had been cautioned that the room was small, and it was, but we made it work. A very tiny bathroom sink was a bigger problem in terms of toiletries, but for a couple nights, this was alright, too. The location is perfect if you want to be right at the locks and in the heart of downtown. There is a good restaurant right next door, in addition to the complimentary breakfast offering at the motel. We wanted something more than continental, but the room always seemed full of happy and satisfied motel guests. There is also a laundromat a couple blocks away, which served us well, since we'd been on the road for awhile before arriving here.

Room Tip: One great thing about our little cabin was its location at the very back of the property, well off t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed in the hotel/motel part of the Lockview. It was in the perfect location, you can walk to all the shopping, restaurants and the locks. You can see the ships go by directly across the street. The room was clean and comfortable, the service was great. They have a free shuttle to the Kewadin Casino which was perfect, so we didn't have to drive. They have a great continental breakfast with more to choose from that most places. The only reason I did not give the hotel 5 stars is because the rooms are quite small, it's had to find a place to put everything and there was only one lamp so it was somewhat dark in the room if the curtains were not open. Everything else was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Askwith Lockview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askwith Lockview Motel

Address: 327 West Portage Avenue, P.O. Box 477, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Askwith Lockview Hotel Sault Sainte Marie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Askwith Lockview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.