We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going and Coming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Crestview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Crestview Inn to your Saves list
Budget Host Crestview Inn
1200 Ashmun Street, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Kewadin Casino Package
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Thunder Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Going and Coming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice over the holidays - on our way to Thunder Bay and on the return trip. On December 23 we were delighted to have wifi, free pet and free continental breakfast with a clean, comfortable and spacious room for one low price. The gentleman who was our host was most helpful with directions. It was an excellent experience - so much so that we came back on January 2. All the same features were in play, except this time we were given a room with a single queen bed - much smaller room and unfortunately it had been converted from a smoking to a non-smoking room with the lingering aroma. Comfort was not as forthcoming in this situation. It is still a great value but I would request a "pure" non-smoking" room on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has always been non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank You so much for being our guest...twice!
Also, thank you for the candid review. Our goal is ALWAYS guest satisfaction. Whenever there is something we can do to make our guests more comfortable we are anxious to accommodate them. In your case, we would have been happy to find a fresher, more comfortable room to move you to. I sincerely apologize for the lingering smoke odor. Please be assured that ALL of our rooms are non-smoking according to Michigan law. Unfortunately, however, some inconsiderate folks choose too disregard the no smoking signage we have in place and smoke in the room regardless. When this happens we do our utmost to restore the room to a pristine condition. Despite our best efforts, however, we cannot always totally eliminate the scent before our next guest arrives. Bottom line; if you are not happy we are not happy.
We sincerely hope we get a chance to accommodate you a third time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    23
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Came to the Soo for our Anniversary.December 31..If your looking for The Ritz..keep on driving, if your looking for an extremely good value on a Clean comfortable room ,you found your place.
the bed was excellent.,The room was cozy and warm,great Continental breakfast.The people who run the hotel were very nice,how nice..it was 13 below zero and overnight they got 8 to 10 inches of snow.when We came to load our car the man who shoveled the sidewalk also broomed off the snow of our car and shoveled two path's down both sides of our car..and every other car there..and there were a good amount of people there.I love these old Hotel's where you back your car up to the door and walk right into your room,We were on the road side and I slept like a baby.every time We go to the Soo from now on this is where we are staying

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank You for being our guests and thanks for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to put in a good word for our family owned and operated business (that's my son Luke and I that do all the snow shoveling). In this day and age of "cookie cutter, brand name, big box" everything, it's nice to know folks still appreciate a simple bit home town hospitality. Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Came to The Sault for color and casino. A little early for color and the casino won. However, we discovered this diamond in the rough. With rooms rates half what others were charging, we were more than pleased by the clean, neat, well kept rooms. Not fancy, with few amenities, but a pleasant place to spend the night. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
A great value is just what we strive to offer each and every one of our guests. We are so glad you decided to give us a try. Thanks so much for the kind words. We hope it encourages others to give us the chance to earn their business. Glad you enjoyed your visit to the "Soo". Better luck next time at the casino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watervliet
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is an older 60's style basic motor court style motel. The rooms are a little small compared to newer motels but plenty big enough for the two of us. But, the room was spotlessly clean and everything worked well. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed. The continental breakfast was the basic juice, donuts, cereal, etc. with a pretty good assortment. A couple of negatives but nothing that would prevent us from staying here anytime we are in the area. There was some noise from traffic going by. It might be better on the side away from the road. There wasn't room for seating in the breakfast room so seating was outside or take it back to your room. Neither was a big problem. Overall, the room was very nice for the rate we paid and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Glad to see we are living up to our motto: clean rooms @ great rates! We have a super housekeeping crew that understands the best cleaning product is elbow-grease. Thanks so much for being our guest and for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to serving you again sometime soon.
p.s. we also have larger rooms with 2 & 3 beds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms and bed. Nothing plush, but excellent value. Generous continental breakfast. Outstanding servicetoo: next morning we discovered our tire was flat. Owner cheerfully whips out air compressor, fills the tire, saving us a long wait for road service. We'll come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Opportunities to do something "extra" for our customers are our way of saying thanks for doing business with us. We know folks have a lot of choices when it comes to lodging in Sault Ste. Marie. We like to think that no matter who you are or why you're here the Budget Host Crestview Inn is a smart choice. We take our guests' comfort, security and satisfaction very seriously. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Your hosts, Tony and Marsha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Crestview Inn during a recent weekend trip to the Soo. Our daughter is a student at Lake State, so we have stayed at several of the other chain hotels in the area. The staff was extremely friendly, beds were comfortable and the entire property was spotless! Keep in mind that it is a motor lodge, so the rooms are smaller than the national brands. We were only in our room to sleep, so it worked out great! Terrific location and great view into Canada. The only recommendation I have for travelers is to pack your hair dryer, as our room didn't have one. Other than that, we've already recommended the Crestview Inn to other LSSU parents. Looking forward to our next trip north!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank You! Thank You! Thank You!
For being our guests, for the candid review and for recommending us to your friends!
GO LAKERS !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was there for a week for the Cableas NTC and it was great. They set us up for electric for the boats and the owner and staff treated us like family. They accomodated our ever need and that was great. Rooms were always cleaned, comfortable and economical in price. Best bargain while visiting the Soo. They also have a grill you can cook your meals on that made it like you were at home. If you ever go there and go to fish you have to talk to the owners son. He is very knowledgeable on the fishing in the area and he can direct you to some spots to fish.
Again, great job owners and staff.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We really enjoyed having you and the rest of the fisherman stay with us for the week. While parking all the boats, trailers and trucks was a challenge, you guys made easy work of it for us. We can't wait until the next big tournament brings you and the boys back to the "Soo"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Crestview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Crestview Inn

Address: 1200 Ashmun Street, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American family owned and operated AAA approved motel. Centrally located near all the area attractions, eateries, shopping and boat launches. Specializing in very clean and comfortable accommodations delivered with great customer service at very competitive prices. Complimentary continental breakfast, Free WIFI and PACKAGES for the SOO LOCKS Boat Tour and Dinner Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Budget Host Crestview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Crestview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.