We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokey and Noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kewadin Casinos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kewadin Casinos Hotel to your Saves list
Kewadin Casinos Hotel
2186 Shunk Road, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$15 Gas Voucher
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Smokey and Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This casino hotel is smokey and noisy. Even though the room was non-smoking, the rest of the building is so smoke filled that you just can't get away from it. The rooms obviously have no soundproofing, as we were kept awake all night by noise from the hallway, the next room, and the parking lot.
The room was clean and nicely decorated, but I would suggest if you are coming to town for the casino, stay at a hotel in town and take the free casino shuttle back and forth. The shuttle drivers are friendly locals who are happy to recommend things to see and do.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    41
    22
    10
See reviews for
21
52
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I'm very much on the fence about this place after having stayed here in recent months for business twice. The place, as a whole, is really very nice. Not overly crowded, ample parking and a pretty nice location. Great aesthetics. The rooms - that's where the jury's still out. My first stay was a room with a king bed. Plenty of room and there was a sitting area with a loveseat/coffee table and a desk/chairs. The room itself was clean - the bathroom, not so much. Had I noticed it when I first checked in, I might have asked for a different room. It was half-cleaned, with soap scum from a bar of soap on the ledge in the tub and rings from where someone's shampoo had been sitting... among other icky things. First time I've ever cleaned a bathroom in a hotel room! The second room had two queen beds with a chair in the corner and the desk/chairs. It seems that the rooms were the same overall size. Room #2's bathroom was just fine but the carpeted floors in the main part of the room left something to be desired. There was one desk chair I refused to sit on and the (carpeted) floor had some sticky spots. Good reminder that you never know what's been on the floors so always wear socks, shoes or slippers! I'm very sensitive to air handling/ air conditioning / heating systems that aren't working well (red eyes in the morning & all stuffed up) - but it was A-OK in both rooms. Neither had an exhaust fan in the bathroom.

I'm a big fan of comfy beds and pillows - the beds were sufficient but pillows not so much... they were somewhere between travel-sized and standard; and just really not very comfortable. Larger gap at the bottom of the door leading out to the hall, so you can hear pretty much everything going on (as can they hear you in your room). Front desk staff was "eh" both times. Not much enthusiasm from what I experienced. Restaurants/places to eat inside the hotel were decent and reasonably priced. I've seen better buffets but it was adequate. There's a little place tucked into the main hallway across from the gift shop that serves burgers and things like that - little pricy but good food and very friendly people behind the counter. Great conference center upstairs! Casino - not so easy to find when I was there the first time! There is gaming on both sides of the hallways at the opposite end of the front desk so be sure to check both places out. There is also a little windowed "nook" towards the middle of the place, down near the restaurants.

Can't say how good your return will be on the gambling as I didn't play very much. They are currently offering $10 per day in "free play" money. Might as well give it a try! Price-wise, I can't attest to that as I was traveling on business and I'm not sure of the regular rates. Overall, I would probably recommend this place as most people staying there are probably coming for the casino - and won't spend much time in their rooms. And I'm overly picky when it comes to some things, so take the time to read as many reviews as you can before making a decision.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice and for a casino hotel in the U P it's very nice. Rates are ok, rooms are decent size. Food was very good. Great drink specials. The only thing is the parking for the hotel is a bit strange. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have stayed here a few times, recently it was this past weekend. On the good side, it is a very nice and friendly hotel and casino and we did enjoy staying there. On the down side, when we checked in we were told it would be 1/2 hr to an hour, we went back an hour and 1/4 later and were told it would be another 1/2. When we went back we were told it would be another 10 mins. which turned into another 1/2.The room we had had a very nice and comfortable king bed. It also had a jacuzzi tub, so there was a lot of mould around the window and under the wallpaper around the window. The door to the room was the only one on the floor without a peep hole and on the inside did not have that upper latch thing. On the whole, other than the above, we do enjoy this hotel and casino and will definitely stay here again. We ate at the Trail Deli and the food was okay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as we journeyed around the upper peninsula. Room rate was decent, hotel seemed a bit dated but room was clean & maintained. Only real drawback is like all other casinos SO MUCH smoking but room was pleasant & smok-free. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Parking is a challenge if they are busy but you can pull right up to front doors to unload just be p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and myself each received a $10 Vouchers to play on the casino floor. If you deduct this from my room cost, the room would have been $51. We had no problem with reregistration as our room was ready when we checked in at 5:30 P.M. Room was clean and updated, flat screen t.v., lots of pillows newer looking carpet. Buffet was excellent in the Restaurant with many food choices and excellent desert bar. The casino floor was fun and seemed to have a liberal comping policy over other casinos I have played in. All in all had a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip that was meeting at the hotel conferene area. Had no problems with reservations or check-in. The room was very clean and better than I expected after reading some reviews on tripadvisor. Everything in the room appeared to be newer and clean. I had plenty of room and was satisfied with the condition. Food was good at the restaurant. Didn't gamble very much at all so I can't really comment on how the casino stacks up compared to others. I would defintiely stay here again for work and even on a pleasure trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kewadin Casinos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewadin Casinos Hotel

Address: 2186 Shunk Road, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kewadin Casino Hotel and Convention Center is Northern Michigan's premiere gaming destination featuring more than 800 slots, 15 table games, poker, live Keno and bingo. The hotel has more than 300 rooms and suites and offers dining, free wifi, an indoor pool, gym, live entertainment, lounges, business center, free shuttle service and gift shop. Kewadin also has a 61 site RV park with electrical hook-ups, waste station and shower house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kewadin Casinos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kewadin Casinos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.