We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fantastic but acceptable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie to your Saves list
Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3525 I-75 Business Spur, I-75 at Exit #392, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783 (Formerly Inn of Sault Ste. Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Not fantastic but acceptable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My partner and I were staying in the Sault Ste. Marie area for New Year's and spent one night at the Park Inn. Overall, we had a reasonably good experience here.

The check-in process was quick and easy. The gentleman working the front desk was friendly and helpful. He was able to provide a couple of good recommendations for restaurants in the area. Our room was small but clean for the most part. (The most annoying thing was seeing a couple of dead flies on the window sill. Not a huge deal, but it was kinda gross.) The bathroom was all right - no major concerns. We particularly enjoyed the pool and hot tub and liked the fact that the pool wasn't so cold - like other hotel pools often are.

Here's an example of the good service one of the front desk clerks provided for us... when we walked into the pool area, we noticed that a country music station was playing on the radio in there. Neither of us like country music at all, and the volume of the radio was rather loud for the pool area. We went to the desk and asked if the clerk could change the station for us (considering the fact that my partner and I were the only people in there). The clerk told us at first that it's the policy of the hotel to not change the station, but s/he did grant my request and changed it to an oldies station. We appreciated that very much. Good service! :-) The pool also has a sauna that we sat in a for a few minutes, which was nice.

The bed was fairly comfortable, and we slept okay. No problems with the mattress or anything.

Breakfast the next morning was okay. They do offer cereal, yogurt, make-your-own Belgian waffles, and hot eggs and sausage. You can't knock the fact that they do have the eggs and sausage... perfect for making a breakfast sandwich of some sort.

The check-out process was also quick and easy. We had no real problems at all with this hotel and wouldn't mind staying there again. The room could have been a little bigger and a little cleaner when we first arrived, but no biggie. It was fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    61
    36
    22
    2
See reviews for
60
58
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very clean! All the staff was friendly and helpful. The single queen room was pretty small but for just me it was perfect. Loved having a fridge in the room and an adult only pool hour. I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was a total disappointment. It is the smallest room we have ever stayed in. Only room for 1 nightstand, the elevator shaft was right next to our room, and the bed was not comfortable; cheap mattress and no fridge in the room.

Room Tip: If this is rated a 2 star better try for a 2 1/2 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post this review. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. A comfortable bed is always something that is important during a guest's travels as is a quiet location. We do apologize we did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact us at CCare@carlsonrezidor.com ~Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was clean and neat, beds are average, staff was friendly and room was quiet. Pool is small but clean and breakfast is simple with a make your own waffel bar, pre-made eggs and sauage, and of course cold ceral and milk...it worked for us!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Change the bedspread colors and it would be a Motel 6. Incredibly bad value for what you get. It is clean and comfortable enough for a lower level hotel. So if that iw what you want and you get a lower price...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Support Specialist at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We do sincerely apologize for the situation you encountered. If you would like to discuss this further please email ccare@carlsonrezidor.com. Thanks again for making us aware of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, MI
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is a good place to stay if you just plan to use it for sleeping as the standard rooms are very compact. How compact? Plan on walking sideways to get into bed if you sleep on the wall side of the bed. Our standard room had a good sized desk and a small TV sitting on top of the wardrobe but no refrigerator or microwave. (Suites have a kitchen area that includes a refrigerator and a microwave). The oddly shaped bathroom was roomy. The rooms were fairly quiet with some noise from people walking above and dogs barking in a room across the hall. The wireless internet was reliable and fast.

The breakfast area was also quite compact but it did sport a couple of waffle irons along with eggs and sausage for the hot items. The breakfast area opens at 6:00 for those needing to be on the road early. We were doing the Mackinac Bridge walk and needed to leave extra early, so we were happy to find that the breakfast room was actually ready before 6:00.

The pool area was clean with a good sized pool, a very warm whirlpool and a sauna (after all, this is northern Michigan).

The hotel is located along the I-75 Business Spur with Wal*Mart, KMart, Walgreen's and Rite Aid nearby if you have forgotten to bring needed items along. Applebee's, Country Kitchen and An-Gio's restaurants are a short distance away.

We were very satisfied with the value received for the price. Since we had several sightseeing trips planned and were out most of the day, the room size was not a problem.

Room Tip: If you need a lot of room, it might be worth the money to get a suite, which has approximately twice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in a room with a king bed. Although the room wasn't large the room was excellent. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was clean, and we felt like we got more than what we paid for. The few times we spoke with staff, they were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 3525 I-75 Business Spur, I-75 at Exit #392, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783 (Formerly Inn of Sault Ste. Marie)
Location: United States > Michigan > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.