We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not upgraded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie to your Saves list
Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3525 I-75 Business Spur, I-75 at Exit #392, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783 (Formerly Inn of Sault Ste. Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Ottawa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not upgraded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was our last stay on a long cross country trip. We weren't impressed. The bathroom was good but the room was small. Now the price was cheap so I guess you get what you pay for. I didn't like the breakfast eggs. It was one of the poorer breakfasts we had on our trip. It is a dog friendly hotel and the pool looked good. Jason at the front desk was very friendly. The worrisome part was the back door of the hotel where you need your card to get in was broken. Anyone could open it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Park Inn. We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not a good as you had planned. We appreciate all feedback we can get to provide better service and product to our guests. We have been continuing to try different products on our breakfast line to have a variety of choices and please everyone. We also recognize we have a problem with our rear entrance of the hotel, but we are having trouble with finding the problem. We do have a third contractor coming out to look at it next week. Again we do apologize for your stay not being up to par. We hope that you will give us a chance again when passing through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    66
    38
    25
    2
See reviews for
67
59
14
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed here for a combined mini vacation and business trip and was very pleased. The room was small but very clean. An added bonus was a mini fridge in my room. Breakfast was good and staff was very pleasant. I would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you so much for you review of the Park Inn. We hope that when you come back to Sault Sainte Marie MI we are your hotel of choice. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Nice rooms, good breakfast, the pool was clean and refreshing, overall great visit

Room Tip: Reserve online best prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the Park Inn Sault Sainte Marie MI. We hope you come visit us again very soon. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Our son was in the Soo to take the MCAT test and we drove up to spend some time with him and his fiancee. After checking the reviews on TA we chose to make our reservations for two single queen rooms here. We paid $63 per night per room which I thought was fair. Rooms are small but clean and one room showed signs of being recently updated as did some hallways. The bed was harded then we are used to but still comfortable. If you're used to a harder bed I think you'd probably like it. Our room also had a small refrigerator which our son's room next door did not. Free internet in the room was also pleasantly fast. The pool and hot tub were clean and warm with a far number of patio seats available. Pool towels were always available. They also had a very nice sauna. The free breakfast was the standard hotel fair offered by so many but they also had scrambled eggs and sausage patties which were tasty.
I had explained to the front desk staff that my son was in town for a very important test and could they please place him in a quiet room so he'd get a good nights sleep. This request was cheerfully granted and I thank them. We did have a first. I was a little surprised so see a sign asking guest to visit TripAdvisor and share their experiences. I love TA but this seemed a bit much.
Overall I'd have no problems staying here again or recommending them to others.
One hint- there is a restaurant next door (easy walking distance) called Studebakers which was very good.

Room Tip: Just understand in advance the rooms are smaller then some other similar hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of the Park Inn Sault Sainte Marie MI. The entire staff here thanks you for your wonderful response. Happy Travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsley, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stayed here and it was basicly a shoe box with a bed and a mini tv that was so small I could barely see it from the bed.In the morning the breakfast was sad yes they have waffles but no syrup and the waffel iron was very unsanitary and dirty.I skipped that breakfast the coffe even sucked.I have traveled for 27 years and chose this motel because of the reviews on this site and I am thinking the reviews have been written by management or someone who lives in a cardboard box in real life.The rooms were clean though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
I apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. I will take into consideration everything you expressed in this review and make sure it is thoroughly covered with staff members in all departments. We are doing many upgrades to our rooms within the next year to make them more comfortable for our guests. Thank you very much for your review and expressing your concerns with our hotel. We are always looking to better ourselves at the Park Inn and this is a great way to do so with reviews from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We booked our trip online and stayed at Soo Locks Lodge which is down the road from Park Inn. Unfortunately, unknown to us until after we had checked in for our stay, we were not able to use the pool at our motel. We had four young children and had planned on spending most of our time at the indoor pool. Our motel said that best they could do would be call the Park Inn and ask if we could use their pool. They welcomed us. The kids had a great swim and the young man (so sorry we did not get his name) was extremely friendly and made us feel so welcome even when we had not booked with them. We are planning more of these trips as it works for our families to meet in the Soo and will be repaying this hotel by booking stays with them.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Current
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had a very pleasant experience staying at the Park Inn. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room were very clean and we maintained. Especially like the touch of having a rubber ducky placed in the bathroom. Great Job! We will definitely stay here on our next return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 3525 I-75 Business Spur, I-75 at Exit #392, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783 (Formerly Inn of Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.