We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie to your Saves list
Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3525 I-75 Business Spur, I-75 at Exit #392, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783 (Formerly Inn of Sault Ste. Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel, great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed there the last weekend in July for a family trip, and we had a great experience. The hotel was easy to find, and was near several restaurants and Walmart. The rooms are small, and they do not have a dresser in the room, but that was okay with us. Our rooms both had refrigerators, and one of the rooms had a microwave. Not sure if that's standard, but it is a nice touch.

The bathroom, like the room itself, is on the small side. Something that they had, which I hadn't seen before, was the tub in the corner of the room. To be honest, the tub DOES look small, but it is a standard size tub. And, we had a rubber duck in both rooms. (My duck, in fact, is sitting on my desk while I write this review).

They have a expanded continental breakfast, to explain it best. They have the basics for continental breakfast: toast, bagels, English muffins, muffins, cereal, donuts, and danishes. They also had the option to make your own waffles, and they had a small hot breakfast. When we were here, they had round, premade scrambled egg patties (something that you could use, for example, to make an egg and bagel sandwich) and sausage links. I know some reviewers said that they had biscuits and gravy: unsure if they switch the options for the hot breakfast every now and then, or if they discontinued the biscuits and gravy.

The pool area is nice, with a pebbled floor (as opposed to tile, which tends to become slippery quickly) and a large pool and hot tub. The hot tub was VERY warm: the temperature averages out to 104 degrees. It was very nice to sit in after a long day walking around downtown Sault Ste. Marie and looking at the docs.

The best part of the stay, though, was the staff. We did not encounter one person who wasn't willing to help, and they were all friendly and cordial. Even little things, like holding open doors when you're bringing stuff in and there's no one else checking in at that time, or giving suggestions for dining near the hotel, shows that the hotel puts the customer first.

Overall, we had a great stay, and if we head that way again, will more likely than not stay at the same place. Thank you! :)

(As an aside: if you're there, DEFINTELY check out Jeff's 50's Diner, which is across the road. The all-you-can-eat prices are high, but the other menu items are priced akin to what you would expect from Applebee's, Red Robin, IHOP, etc. The food, though, is EXCELLENT. My family absolutely loved the Marilyn Melt, and their Cherry Coke was actually Coke with cherry flavoring added in, like it would have been made in the 50's. VERY good.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your great response about our hotel. We are very pleased to know that you had such a great experience with us. We do try to go out of our way to do what we can for the guests, especially since we cannot do anything about the room size. We find that most guests are there to see the sites and not spend a lot of time in the rooms. We hope to see you again in the future to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    61
    36
    22
    2
See reviews for
60
58
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My wife and I visited the Soo to see family over the 4th of July weekend and decided to crash here instead of an air mattress - VERY glad we did. While the room was definitely on the small side, the bathroom was pretty roomy - I'm not sure how the double queen rooms were on size, but our single queen room couldn't fit another bed. We didn't spend a ton of time hanging out in the room, and we found it to be quite comfortable and cozy for the two of us. The shower was decent and we both slept great on the bed. I picked up 3 nights here for $60 bucks a night. I couldn't have been more satisfied with the quality of this hotel - then throw in free wi-fi and a light breakfast.. SOLD.

Room Tip: Try and grab a 3rd floor room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for your kind response about our hotel. Very glad that we could provide you with a clean, comfortable place to stay away from your air mattress. We try to keep the prices lower to accomodate guests in todays economy, but still provide them with a stay comparable to those at more luxurious hotels. We hope to be able to provide you with the same accommodations the next time you are in Sault Ste. Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our family just finished an 11 day trip and this property was the best one we stayed at. What a great place. When we travel we look for a place that's safe, clean and comfortable and the Park Inn fit the bill. This is the only place I have ever stayed at that provided a rubber duck for it's customers.
when we checked in the General Manager, Michelle, handled the paperwork and did a great job. We booked two rooms and they put us side by side. We had our teenage grandsons with us and they loved the indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. We also had a grandson in our room. The room was a little cramped with three 'big people" in it, but we were there only to sleep. The breakfast was adequate, but not overwhelming. The boys loved making their own waffles. there was cereal, fruit, coffee, juice, danish just enough to get you started every morning. In all of the excitement, there was a small discrepancy with our room charges, but they were handled as soon as we brought it to their attention.
All in all, a great place to stay and convenient to downtown. Lots of good places to eat nearby.
I highly recommend this hotel for the value received.

Room Tip: Mention AAA/AARP and reserve through the Park Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for your detailed response about our hotel. Was very nice to have met your family and been able to take care of your accomodations while visiting the Park Inn and Sault Ste. Marie. Glad we could take care of your billing problem right away. We hope to see you again this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Very clean. Helpful staff. Pretty basic, but the pool/hottub/sauna are nice extras. Breakfast is not great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for your response about our hotel. We hope to do business again with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

It was -10'F without windchill and was very warm inside. Good location near Wal-Mart if you forgot something (bathing suit), pool was great for the kids, breakfest was adequate. the only downside was there was hair on the pillows when we got there. I don't particularily care for that....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Despite the high energy costs we do keep the hotel as comfortable as possible for guests. We sincerely apologize about the hair found on your pillows. If brought to me right away we could have taken care of the issue right away. This is something I will be bringing to our housekeeping staff to make sure they are double checking everything when they clean the rooms. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kagawong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

The Park Inn is very clean,comfortable and extra good value. Check out time in noon which can be handy and breakfast is served till 10:30 if you want to sleep in.
Some people say the rooms are smaller than other hotel rooms which is true but if you are just going for an evening sleep, who cares.If you have a larger group and want to entertain people, it is small. I found the bed to be very comfortable, the breakfast was good and the price excellent.
I will go back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Yes the rooms are smaller but we do have larger rooms and suites available if bringing more people for a longer period of time. Our late checkout and later breakfast times are perks of the hotel that a lot of people love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is a really nice place. It's newly constructed, so you know that everything works. Magnificent pool, sauna and hot tub. Good breakfast (at their expense). Near a lot of beautiful attractions. The Wi-Fi worked superbly. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Two things stand out at this place: the price and the professionalism and courteousness of its staff.

They give you true value for your money. Don't be fooled by their low rates. You get more than what you paid for. Would stay there anytime.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Thank you for your kind response about our hotel. It is great to hear how people review us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 3525 I-75 Business Spur, I-75 at Exit #392, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783 (Formerly Inn of Sault Ste. Marie)
Location: United States > Michigan > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 - Sault Ste. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.