We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longships Motel

Longships Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sault Ste. Marie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longships Motel
Save
You added Longships Motel to your Saves list
427 West Portage Ave, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783   |  
Hotel amenities
Rockford, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The location couldn't be better. It's amazing to walk out of your room and see a longship coming in. Then it's just a quick walk to the viewing area of the Soo Locks. We stayed there for 2 nights. The room was fine, a bit dated, but nice. The only thing that would have been better would have been if the office would have been open earlier for coffee . All told, it was well worth the money. I would highly recommend if you want to be close to the locks. And they are amazing, (this coming from a land lubber)...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Acester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great location right across from the locks and near downtown shops and resteraunts. The price was very reasonable and the rooms are clean. Clean bathroom with good water preasure, the owners were helpful as we checked in late and last minute.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here on a little romantic getaway to the Soo Locks. It's a little motel right across the street from them. The staff was fantastic, helpfull and friendly. They helped us with a late check in and answered every question we had. This was right on the strip, walking distance to bars and restaurants and shopping.

Rooms were a little small and dated, but perfect for two people. Our only complaint was the blinds. Sunlight came in EASILY and some simple blackout curtains would be perfect and would help with taking a nap and sleeping in.

Value was fantastic, especially for the location. You could here when a ship was approaching. The noise was just a smooth hum. It wasn't annoying or a distraction, you just knew it was time to look outside! If your heading to the Locks, this is your place!!

Room Tip: Closer to the street, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

A cozy place with a perfect location. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and a good value. The staff is wonderful...helpful, accommodating, and the nicest people you can hope to come across. The Soo Locks are right across the street and we could watch them from right outside our room (You can also hear them during the night.). The property is a bit on the older side, but the staff makes up for that by keeping the rooms and grounds meticulously clean. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

Room Tip: Room #1 is best for viewing the Locks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The rooms aren't large or luxurious but they're squeaky clean and very comfortable. The Sault Sainte Marie locks are almost directly across the street so you can chat with your neighbors in a chair by your door and dash over to the locks if you see an interesting boat coming through. Or just hang out for awhile in the park that surrounds the locks. There's no fridge, microwave, or coffee maker in the rooms but the friendly owner has fresh coffee in the lobby early each morning and there is Wi-Fi. Restaurants and a microbrewery are within walking distance.

It isn't a five star Hilton but it is exactly what I look for in a motel and my single room was right at $60.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longships Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longships Motel

Address: 427 West Portage Ave, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longships Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.