We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
3457 Blue Star Hwy, Saugatuck, MI 49453   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Saugatuck
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I'm not the kind of traveler to stay at a B&B. I just want a comfortable bed, clean towels and floors, and a pool. That's exactly what I got. Saugatuck is a beautiful town, but the rates for privately owned Inns and B&Bs were just ridiculous. Their reviews are great, but I get the feeling they are more geared toward older adult traveler. As a early twenty-something, the Best Western was just the ticket. I got a suite with a king size bed, a tub for two, a couch & a fridge for less than $100 each night - which I split with my boyfriend. We slept in late, and were left undisturbed. We swam in the pool & soaked in the hot tub, and didn't mind the occasional splash from a kid's cannon ball. We loaded our arms up with free breakfast delights to eat in our own room & no one protested. It was great! The people who run the place seem like they are a family. Very sweet. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    42
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
41
47
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have stayed at this Best Western a couple of times. I can't say I am unsatisfied or disappointed with this hotel. It just seems like it could be better. Value wise I think it can be alittle overpriced at times. I feel like it is more like the $65 Best Western not the 100 dollar or 135 dollar Best Western. The addition of flat screen Tv's are a big plus. There are a lack of electrical outlets in the room. If you are on the main floor you can hear loud walkers crossing their room above you.The Wifi still streams at various speeds and goes on and off. The Staff are always friendly and I am sure they would do whatever they could to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The breakfast bar is what you would expect. The dining room is on the smaller side so it feels a little cramped. I am sure owning a hotel in a seasonal area of the country could be challenging. I give the family credit for doing it. I would just like a little updating and I would be fine with paying 100 or 135 dollars a night. One other thing about this hotel is that I do always feel safe at this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed for two days in mid May and found this hotel a very quite comfortable place to stay. New flat screen TV with lots of channels including HBO. The staff was very friendly and helpful and had good knowledge of the area. I will definitely stay at this hotel when ever I find myself in southwest Michigan.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiaville, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I travel a lot throughout Michigan and this Best Western has the friendliest and most helpful staff that I have encountered. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is actually very good. As a business traveler this hotel exceeds my requirements. My crew and I stay here every time we are doing work in this area. I would highly recommend this hotel.
American Incline Elevator

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here back in April 2013 for a 1 night stay. The check in process was a breeze and I appreciated the free welcome gift of snacks & water. The room was nice and clean with lots of space. I didn't use the microwave but the fridge was nice to have for keeping drinks cold. The hotel didn't have pay per view movies but that seems to be the trend these days, with all the portable forms of media out there. The second floor did smell like varnish as they were re-doing some of the woodwork on that floor, the smell didn't bother me but may have bothered some people. I enjoyed the free breakfast of waffles and biscuits & gravy. I asked for and received a late checkout which was nice, all in all this was a great place and I would recommend it to others. Thanks for a great stay I hope to be back next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor, its nice and quite up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while in town for the Holland Tulip Time festival. Great location - we were pleasantly surprised to see it was in a quiet area surrounded by tall pine trees. Our room was on the back of the building so we were able to leave our window open and enjoy nature instead of a parking lot.

We found our king whirlpool room well laid out, comfortable and clean. The tub was one of the best we have had in a hotel, and just the ticket for sore muscles after the run.

The deskclerk graciously let us in the room an hour early which not only saved us a trip back but gave us time for a little nap.. ;-) We found the breakfast to be at least average & included hot offerings which not all 3 stars have. They had flavored syrups for your morning coffee, which I especially enjoyed.


We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck

Address: 3457 Blue Star Hwy, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saugatuck
Saugatuck Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.