We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off Kilter” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Gables Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin Gables Inn
Save
You added Twin Gables Inn to your Saves list
900 Lake Street, Saugatuck, MI 49453   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Off Kilter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 and were very disappointed with our choice of lodging. Compared with other B & Bs throughout the U.S. this was by far the least friendly and the most uncomfortable room we have had anywhere. The innkeepers were invisible during our two night stay and we missed having recommendations by the locals which is a key to the success of any B & B. Our room was so slanted that any items placed on the dresser slid off. We overlooked that the room was incredibly small, but when I got vertigo from being off kilter it negatively affected my Saugatuck visit. We are fit and well-traveled and would not recommend this inn to anyone who might not want to navigate a difficult staircase, slanted flooring, and, moldy showers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
8
66
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I (ages 52) stayed here on 10-5-13 for one night. Stayed in very small room called the Petite Syrah. We didn't want to spend alot of $$, so the room was adequate, but the drawback was the double bed. Just way too small! Room was clean and bed linens nice. Bath and shower very small. Room kinda slants . . very old building! We really enjoyed the breakfast. Great fruit bowl with fresh kiwi, papaya and mango. 2nd course was a scont with fresh jam. Also very good! Then came the eggs Napolean. Scrambled with a few tomatoes on top. Very good! Nice view when eating too. Convenient and close to downtown Saugatuck.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September 2013. The B&B is probably the oldest building in Saugatuck with a remarkable history. Even though it is an old building, it has every modern convenience for a really comfortable stay. We stayed in the Zinfandel room which was very well decorated and nicely furnished. Breakfast was a highlight, freshly cooked and very tasty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in the Pinot Noir room which was modest in size (really plenty for the two of us). We truly enjoyed the beautiful grounds, the lovely common areas and the very delicious three course breakfast. Coffee can be made by guests in the common area anytime...good thing cause breakfast doesn't start till 9 a.m. It is about a mile walk to "downtown" Saugatuck, but the walk is along the Kalamazoo River and is beautiful. We would stay here again. We examined a number of the other rooms and they are all beautiful.

Room Tip: Examine the web site and look at the square footage of the rooms. Also you may wish to identify tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have stayed at Twin Gables once before and enjoyed the stay so much, that we decided to stay here again. At our 1st visit, we stayed in the Chardonnay room in the main house. During our 2nd visit, we stayed in the Vintner Loft, which is a private room over the garage, equipped with coffee maker, fridge and microwave. The room was larger, clean and very quiet. You will have to go up an outside flight of stairs to get to the room, so that may present a problem to some with physical limitations. We enjoyed the room and will request it again. Breakfast is served from 9-10:30 and consists of 3 courses, all homemade at the Inn and very delicious! Freshly baked cranberry coffee cake, a yogurt parfait of blueberries and strawberries and a cheesy quiche. Excellent coffee and juice are available, too. The Inn has bicycles available to ride into town, which is also within walking distance. A pool and lovely garden area is also on the premises. We certainly plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: I would advise going to Twin Gables online site to view pictures and descriptions, including size of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We and another couple spent two nights here. We were in the Chardonay room, which was a decent size, and nice bath, but our frineds were in Petit Syrahh and they had problems with the small size, door on the bathroom got stuck, and it was noisy. We had a white noise machine by our bed, so we had no problems with noise. I suggested my friends turn on the bathroom fan and that noise helped drown out the other stuff. Breakfast is not available until nine, and so on the second day we did not get food because we had to leave by 8 am. But the location was fine, and we had a good time in Saugatuck.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed one night on 7-30-13. We had the Bourdeax room, 2nd floor. Room small but efficient with a tv ... rare for a B&B. The grounds are well kept and inviting but the mosquitoes drove us away quickly. The inn is very nice and a good value for this area. Breakfast was adequate but nicely presented. Not much interaction with staff except upon check in. The gal was business-like and non personal. We would stay again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor location would be best. Main floor rooms are too close to outside door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twin Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Gables Inn

Address: 900 Lake Street, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples looking to relax, rekindle, and reconnect will look no further for their getaway hideaway. Our bed and breakfast in Saugatuck, Michigan, has a relaxed, friendly and casually elegant atmosphere. Located in town overlooking Lake Kalamazoo, we have incredible water views from many of our Inn rooms. Our dining porch overlooks the lake, which gives our guests a breathtaking lake view during breakfast and fabulous sunsets at the day's end. We are a nationally recognized award-winning circa 1856 Michigan Historical Bed & Breakfast. with all the amenities of the 21st century. This Michigan bed and breakfast Inn is registered as a historical site with the state of Michigan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Twin Gables Hotel Saugatuck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.