We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachway is a breath of fresh (lake) air” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachway Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachway Resort
Save
You added Beachway Resort to your Saves list
106 Perryman Street, Saugatuck, MI 49453   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Saugatuck
chicago, illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beachway is a breath of fresh (lake) air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We've been staying at the Beachway for 2 weeks every year for over a decade. It's just about 3/4 mile from OxBow, Chicago Art Institute's summer camp where my husband studies glassblowing. The Beachway is SO accessible to EVERYTHING in the area - 1/2 walk to Lake Michigan, steps to the Chain Ferry to take you to downtown Saugatuck via the Kalamazoo River and the InterUrban bus offering door-to-door service in a many-miled area. The Beachway has many apt units with 1,2,3 bedrooms, some studios and a cottage - all with cooking facilities - plus many pool-side hotel rooms, a couple of big family units and then the capability of booking spaces in a wide swath of their own property. All with access to grills, too. The pool is immaculate with plenty of chairs and chaise lounges, tables and umbrellas. Continental B'Fast available in lobby, along with games, dvds, maps, menus, pool towels, candy, etc ... and a MOST amazing and attentive staff. Housekeeping staff is directed by a most amazing woman, Hyacinth, who comes up from Jamaica "in season" and rocks this place. Owner Kathy Wilson is the hardest working woman I've ever seen and she has seen it/heard it all. We love it here and find it pastoral, calming, colorful and very genuine.

Room Tip: depends on what you're seeking; they've got it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
38
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for a week and whilst it's on the other side of the lake you could drive round in 5 minutes or get the chain ferry for one dollar. There is a swimming pool which is great the staff are very friendly rooms start from 120 dollars a night for a basic twin room. They don't provide breakfast but offer free coffee and do nuts as well as fresh fruit the surroundings are very pretty plenty of flowers and very relaxed lots of DVDs to rent and a very pleasant lounge area

Room Tip: The double rooms are spacious they also offer suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Wonderful place for me to spend my first vacation without my late husband. The waterfront suite was very nice and the view was great. Everyone at this resort was super friendly and happy! Loved the location!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The little hotel I has a "Bed and Breakfast" feel to it, but can accommodate a family. You also have your own private bathroom. We loved it. The teenage kids thought it was cute because it was unlike any place they have ever stayed. The staff was very friendly and helpful both on the phone and in persons they gave us suggestions based on what we wanted to do. The room was clean as well.

Room Tip: There were four of us staying (2 adults 2 kids). We chose a family room. This gave us a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, MI
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was my first time in Saugatuck. This hotel is located on other side of the river...walking distance to Mount Baldhead Park, 2 min walk to ferry which takes you downtown, and 5mis drive to Oval Beach. We had family room #4. King bed a,d 2 twin beds plus sofa. Room was very clean so was bathroom. They don't serve typical breakfast but coffee, tea, some fruit, mini donuts and some sweet bread.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel. Very comfortable, clean and convenient. Very friendly & helpful staff. Down the street from Oval Beach, Mt. Baldhead and across the street from the Saugatuck Chain Ferry. What's not to like!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for three nights during the scorching hot 100 degree days. The pool is great, the rooms are clean and up to date and cozy.

I would recommend this stay to anyone who wants to be close to Downtown Saugatuck but still tucked away.

The Beach is a little slice of heaven.

Room Tip: We stayed in the economy twin room, it was small but enough room for the two of us. Super clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachway Resort

Address: 106 Perryman Street, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the banks of the Kalamazoo River, the Beachway Resort is the closest hotel to Lake Michigan's Oval Beach. Take a ride on the only hand-cranked chain ferry in the US and spend a day shopping Saugatuck's shops and art galleries, or relax beside the sparkling heated pool! Enjoy some of our amenities such as our large heated swimming pool, movie library, board games and toys for children, guest computer and morning coffee & donuts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beachway Hotel Saugatuck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachway Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.