We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique menu, good service, neat location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pumpernickel's Eatery

Pumpernickel's Eatery
202 Butler St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9493
269-857-1196
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 50 Restaurants in Saugatuck
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Kewanna
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unique menu, good service, neat location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I had read the reviews before visiting Saugutuck and wanted to make this a lunch stop on our recent visit. We were fortunate to be visiting the area when it was not overly crowded and was served right away. I was not aware of how the service worked, but you order before you take a seat, which was fine, the only drawback is they have a lot of good looking stuff on the menu and it is difficult to choose when you are standing in line. They might have had a menu outside, however I did not notice one. We sat on the enclosed porch and watched the rain which was kind of neat. I had a chicken salad sandwich and my husband had their house special ( a reuban sandwich made with turkey and said it was wonderful. We stayed and waited the rain out while enjoying some drinks (they serve alcohol). It was an excellent place to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    65
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Still great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is our go to stop for breakfast in Saugatuck. We had a great breakfast with hot coffee and great service once again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Excellent choice omelette very good quite busy self service at the counter waitress brings to your table reasonably priced and good choice

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stopped in for a quick lunch after shopping. This place was an excellent surpise. It is very clean inside, friendly staff, and the food was awesome. They serve breakfast all day! The fresh bread was perfectly done. Take the time to stop in for a great meal and don't forge the cinnamon roll.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“cozy and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Order a cinnamon roll. If not to eat there (warmed up), then take it home. It is way better than Cinnabun! I had a salad & companion had a sandwich; we were both pleased. Housed in old building in lakeside town. Two levels of dining. Quaint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpernickel's Eatery also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Pumpernickel's Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pumpernickel's Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.