We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!!! Quality dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marro's Italian Restaurant

Marro's Italian Restaurant
147 Water St, Saugatuck, MI 49453
+1 269-857-4248
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Saugatuck
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Union, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food!!! Quality dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

While in Saugatuck, Michigan over the Fourth of July we saw Marro's Italian Restaurant and wanted to make sure we tried this dining experience. They are only open for evening dining, not opening until 5 PM. At 5 PM a crowd had formed at the entrance to the business. We had arrived about 4:30 and were about third in line, however when they opened we were knocked back to get into the place. We were seated, but others who arrived after us were seated and received their food long before we did.

The food was very good, and the desserts were very good. The service lacked that of a high dollar dining experience, but the quality of the food, in particular the desserts were extremely high.

Overall it was a great dining experience, but difficult to get into and because of crowds service somewhat lacking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    62
    19
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious italian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were advised by a local to try the garlic buns and they were a great recommendation.
I had the pasta primavera and a delicious glass of chianti classico. It was fantasatic. My husband had a thin crust pizza which he really enjoyed.

Be prepared to wait. Marro's doesn't take reservations. I also found the tables very close together but that's the price you will pay for such great food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in heart of Saugatuck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Not for the calorie counting travelers. Unless you did a morning workout across the river at Mt. Baldhead! The Garlic rolls are a buttery, cheesy gift. Lasagna has great meat sauce. Angel hair pasta with fresh veggies and plum tomatoes used fresh summer veggies. Nothing canned or frozen. Delish! Great idea to try the small portions of entrees. Still had leftovers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“First visit was very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our first visit to Marro's. We really appreciate the fact that they have a "lite" version of their most popular dishes....smaller portions for those of us on a diet that still like to enjoy good food. My lobster was pretty good, as was my wife's lasagna. The salads were good, and the bread was excellent. Service was very good, professional and attentive.
The view out on to Kalamazoo Lake is a plus.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband, two daughters (ages 14 & 10), and I recently ate at Marro's and were very happy with the food. First and foremost, the tomato sauce used for their dishes, we all agreed, was fresh tasting and flavorful, which in my book is numero uno in importance for an Italian restaurant. The appetizer (freshly baked garlic rolls) which I saw at many of the tables, was yummy, and everyone's salad and entree was deemed really good. When in Saugatuck, we'll be back for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marro's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Marro's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marro's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.