We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing, great hotel, wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saugatuck Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saugatuck Harbor Inn
Save
You added Saugatuck Harbor Inn to your Saves list
787 Lake St, Saugatuck, MI 49453   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Saugatuck
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very relaxing, great hotel, wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed at the Saugatuck Harbor Inn for 3 nights in early July. The crowd from the 4th was over thankfully so the city wasn't completely swamped. We stayed in a great room with a wonderful view of the Harbor. The Inn was fully booked our 2nd-3rd nights and the innkeeper Dolores and her husband were super sweet and welcoming. Her blueberry pancakes were a fantastic way to start our 2nd day! Plus, you could rent a movie from them for only a $1 (we rented the King's Speech, so they do have newer titles). The pool was a great temperature. The only negative was it was a tad far to walk into town for a night in heels. But with tennis shoes for the afternoon it can certainly be done.

Make sure you check out the nearby Beaches on Lake Michigan, they were beautiful! Also, Marro's Italian restaurant downtown has amazing pizza for a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laingsburg, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Very relaxing atmosphere at this B&B. We learned that the owners were new and very eager to please us. The room we chose was charming/clean with a separate sitting area attached. There is a cozy "main sitting room" also with fireplace. The beakfast area is a glassed-in front porch nicely set up for a delicious meal upon waking. The town is within a short 3 block walking distance which is great after eating. We checked out the pool area for future reference and it looked so inviting, overlooking the bay. We will be back next summer to enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

The new owners offer an exceptionally clean B& B and provide a full hot breakfast in a relaxed setting. The food was ample, nicely presented and breakfast was served in a glass enclosed area adjacent to a pleasant living room where guests can congregate. I could set up my CPAP machine for the night simply and easily without moving furniture or getting on the floor which is a great advantage. It was too cool to use the pool when we visited, though that is nice to have easy access to swimming since the Inn is right on the river. Parking is convenient at the Inn which is within walking distance of art galleries and downtown restaurants so you really don't need to drive around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I was here some 20 years ago and have recommended it to many friends-finally-we are back for a weekend. The Bed and Breakfast, managed by a personable husband and wife truly enjoy their "missions" as hosts.
The Oxbow Arts Colony----do not miss it.
Dinner at the bar at the historic Butler was served perfectly by Dave, a 15 year employee.
As I wrote above, definitely worth revisiting.
Ingemar Svala
Vermilion, Ohio

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Arrived in the city the day before July 4 with no reservations! We worried because this was the only lodging available. Rooms were small for the price but sufficient and very clean. WONDERFUL staff. Provided a special breakfast due to our health issues even though we said it was unnecessary. Pool located right off the harbor on site. Walking distance to town. Good info on their website.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010 via mobile

Location was great, but me and my husband were really dissapointed with room we got for the price; size of the room, tv was so small with couple channels, bathroom -no place to put the toiletries... Seriously, we stayd 2 nights, $480.00, - dissapined what we got for that much.
Breakfast? Big NO... Sorry.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Perfect Getaway! We have traveled a lot and have been to Saugatuck many times-This is the best Inn in the area! Great breakfast, short walk to everything and they have a pool right on the Harbor. The Inn is very well decorated and very clean. It is expensive, but a very good value compared with other places we have stayed in Saugatuck. We are going back this summer when the pool is open and can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saugatuck Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saugatuck Harbor Inn

Address: 787 Lake St, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Saugatuck
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Saugatuck Harbor Inn where you and your family will enjoy simple pleasures in casual elegance. Located on 180 degrees of Saugatuck Harborfront, you are surrounded by shops, restaurants and galleries. We offer gracious accommodations in a wide variety of guestrooms ranging from the traditional to more spacious suites. You may choose a cozy room at the top of the Inn with great views of Saugatuck Harbor or a grand suite with personal sitting room and fireplace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saugatuck Harbor Hotel Saugatuck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saugatuck Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.