We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Perch but expect to wait for table on weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wally's Bar and Grill

Wally's Bar and Grill
128 Hoffman St, Saugatuck, MI 49453
269-857-5641
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 50 Restaurants in Saugatuck
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Palos Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go for the Perch but expect to wait for table on weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very popular place but small, so expect a 45 minute wait on a Friday or 60 minutes on Saturday night in the summer. I always like to sit outside so went during the week and waited about 20 min for outdoor table. Recommend fried perch. One of the best I have ever had. Great teamwork as staff all help each other out serving and cleaning tables when busy. Go on a weekday to really enjoy

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    47
    21
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beach Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Fish, Perch dinner or sandwich,
Beef, Pot Roast sandwich, drinks were of good size and priced right.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I'm a bit surprised by the disappointed reviewers. Our experience was nothing like theirs. We walked up about 5, there was about a 10 min wait for outdoor table or we could go in for a table. We went in to the only open table which was a 5/6-top, we were 3. We ordered drinks and waiting to order meal when outdoor waitress asked if we cared to move to a smaller table so they could seat a larger group (they are limited are larger tables. We were fine w/that.

2 of us had the Pot Roast Sandwich. OMG!! Best sandwich I've had in my life, seriously! Server was responsive and very friendly. They took off our drink order because we moved tables to accommodate them.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never even sat down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stood at the entrance for ten minutes while three or four employees walked past us several times. After asking them about seating, one finally told us that they were taking names at the bar. Went to the bar and put our name in only to watch several families that arrived after us get seated. We just left. Went around the corner to an Italian restaurant called Marro's and had a great meal with GREAT service.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, IN
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Ok restaurant ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Wally's is a cute bar/restaurant with outdoor seating and a small area of indoor seating. Good was ok. Husband had perch sandwich; I had the turkey burger. Burger was overly spicey. Kids had Caesar salad and club sandwich which they enjoyed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wally's Bar and Grill also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Wally's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wally's Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.