We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
3656 63rd St., Saugatuck, MI 49453-9705   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Saugatuck is a great weekend getaway with lots of great little B and B's but The Belvedere excels in ALL the little ways. First location out and away from things so you are not tempted to just run here or there, you are tempted to find a little space and cuddle up with a good book, good companion or just some contemplation. Second the ambiance/ decor. From the minute you walk in their front door life's cares can just drop away. The staff is there for every need, they are always easy to find. They were already decorated for the Christmas holidays but not so over the top that it felt cheesy. The common rooms had comfortable and plentiful sitting so you could get out of your room if you felt cramped. The room we had was on the third floor and other then me constantly brushing up against the dormer ceiling with my head...I am not that tall so be aware, the room was perfect. A little electric fireplace gave a soft glow to the room, the bed was comfy, the linens nice and thick. We did not eat dinner there but breakfast was awesome and plenty filling for a great day. We will definitely be back hopefully with nicer weather to wander the grounds a little.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    12
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
135
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff and owners were friendly, gracious and helpful with area recommendations. That being said, the rest of our experience at the belvedere inn was quite disappointing. For starters, for a hotel who has an acclaimed chef and boasts local ingredients being served, we were quite upset by our sad breakfast of overdone French toast "bake" and confirmed johnsonville breakfast sausage. We only opted for breakfast Saturday and decided to go out Sunday AM and not risk another disappointing experience.
Secondly for a 300 per evening charge their were no"extras." No evening apps or cocktails which are typical at most b and bs.
The room was well appointed and the bathroom clean however we did realize that there was dried blood on our sheets. We noticed it on Friday shortly after we went to bed, we didn't say anything however reported to staff immediately when we realized they had remade the bed without changing sheets the next day.
The staff immediately changed the sheets and looked horrified.
I feel that this place has potential but lacks the amenities to warrant 300 a night and so many excellent ratings.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I took a much needed weekend away from our everyday lives, to relax and be pampered at the Belvedere.

Upon arrival to our room, we enjoyed an amazing Cheese & Cracker plate with fresh strawberries, grapes and melon; it was perfect end to the long drive and the perfect start to a lovely weekend.

Our first day at the Belvedere was amazing from the clean comfortable room to the before dinner cocktails in the library to a perfect dinner.

We absolutely loved the meals; it was such a delight to have a wonderful dinner on our first evening there (thank you Shaun & Josephine) and then wake-up to an amazing breakfast.

It is so refreshing to sit down at a perfectly set table and eat a wonderful meal, one morning we had a warm half grapefruit, yogurt & homemade granola, homemade breads, strawberries & grapes, perfectly made coffee and Birds Nests (thank you Nancy).

Every morning it’s a different breakfast, it’s not like at home… Oatmeal or Cap’n Crunch… I could write chapters on the variety of food at just one Belvedere breakfast. If you’ve never had Breakfast Bruschetta, Strata, Frittata, Sausage, or a true Birds Nest… you should make a reservation.

We love this place and will be back as soon as possible,

Thank you Shaun, Nancy and Jonathon.

Love Jim & Angie

Room Tip: All of rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We just stayed at the Belvedere Inn for the thrid time for our anniversary. It is the perfect quiet getaway to celebrate an anniversary (it is our 36th!!) The dinner was unbelievable. We have eaten in fine restaurants all over the globe and around this great country and I will honestly say the the filet mignon and the chicken belvedere were absolutely the best meal I have ever eaten any where and anytime (other than my wife's home made lasagna... made with love). We will definately be back again. The staff treated us all like family. When we came down from upstairs they called us by name. We like to go during off season and during the week when we can, last year we were the only diner and had a private dinner right infront of the fireplace.

Room Tip: The Balmoral was a great room with a king bed... a little more room than a couple of the smaller che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

What an awesome experience from the gorgeous grounds to the amazing room, and everything between. The meals made my taste buds dance. l ordered the filet for dinner and it was so tender and tasty that I only needed a butter knife to cut the meat. The staff from every department was friendly and helpful. They made you feel like family. A wonderful experience and I look forward to many more visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We met friends from Chicago here for a getaway weekend. We were pleasantly surprised by all the amenities, attention to detail, and friendliness of the staff. We attended the wine dinner and it was amazing! Nice country location but only minutes away from downtown Saugatuck.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A wonderful get away to Saugatuck, MI. The food quality and service level was exceptional. One of the owners is the Chef and has a magical touch with presentation and exceptional tastes on the palate. The Belvedere Inn has 10 beautiful rooms on 5 acres and very well maintained for being 100 years old - great old world charm!

Room Tip: Stay in rooms facing the back of property - great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belvedere Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Inn & Restaurant

Address: 3656 63rd St., Saugatuck, MI 49453-9705
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Michigan's very own Mini Versailles located in Saugatuck, Michigan. This Frank Lloyd Wright architecture inspired mansion boasts 10 beautifully appointed guest rooms and a fine dine restaurant sitting on over 5 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens.Enjoy the intimacy of a Bed & Breakfast while feeling the sophistication for a European style boutique Inn. You won't feel like you are in some ma & pa home here. Breakfast is served in our formal dining room at your own table!The Belvedere Inn has found the perfect balance between a B&B and Boutique Inn! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant Hotel Saugatuck
Belvedere Inn And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Belvedere Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list