We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay for vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ship-N-Shore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ship-N-Shore Hotel
Save
You added Ship-N-Shore Hotel to your Saves list
528 Water St, Saugatuck, MI 49453   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Saugatuck
Chatham, Illinois
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay for vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We spend 5 days here in August in a pool side room with 2 queens and a couch. It's a great location -- just park and you can walk everywhere except for the beach. The open-air lounge is even nicer than the motel's website photos. The outdoor decks were beautiful and relaxing. The pool was bigger than it looks in hotel website photos. It was so relaxing to be in the pool or hot tub, watching the boats in the harbor. On nights where there are concerts in Wicks Park, you can avoid the crowds and listen from the pool.

Breakfast was simple continental - but perfect for most days. Cereal, bagels with toaster, cinnamon rolls, fruit and milk.

The rooms are exactly what you can expect from previous posts. They are old but our room was clean. We had no problems at all, other than the couch's upholstery was split and it looked like it had seen better days. Nobody even tried to sit on it, actually. The room has satellite tv that gets a ton of stations (no Disney; no premium). The bedding was comparable to a mid-level hotel - clean white sheets and a white duvet that was super comfy.

Soda machines and ice in the open-air lounge (both coke and pepsi). And games that you can borrow from the front desk.

We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    51
    11
    10
    11
See reviews for
25
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011 via mobile

Room was huge but only so-so BUT overall this place was exceptional. Right on the water. Walking distance to town great restaurant/bar across the street. Super friendly staff. Brand new pool and hot tub right next to docks. Already planning a return this summer. Fell in love with Saugatuck and the Ship n Shore Motel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids mi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Spent one night for New Year's Eve. Have been to Saugatuck many times but usually just for a day trip, so we have not spent nights there. Stayed NYE overnight there for obvious reasons... lol. Was very happy with the motel. They upgraded our room without a request. room was very clean, although the beds could be upgraded a little. But room was large, overlooked the water, and was just what we needed. and the rates were not outrageous. They even had a very good breakfast they set up just for "the morning after". VERY VERY much appreciated. with free Bloody Mary's also ! While not a 5-star hotel by any stretch, i would definately go there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Great place to get away from it all. Reconnect with your spouse. Very romantic to walk around and hold hands just enjoying being together without all the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I was also staying at Ship N Shore this past July, and couldn't find the staff more accomodating. They were respectful, helpful, and anything but immature. My family and I enjoyed staying in this home-away-from home setting. The rooms were clean, the area is beautiful and friendly. I will definitely be returning next July, and this is the first of many more trips to Ship N Shore! =)

Also, our rooms bathrooms had hot water, the jacuzzi definitely worked and was very relaxing, and I didn't feel for one second that this hotel was a party place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

This is one of the greatest hotels in Michigan!The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean. The location cannot be beat. We parked our car and never used it
the whole week! Everything is within walking distance. We visit every summer and we
only want to stay here!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

1. Clean motel, expect 60-70's vintage and the location is great
2. Desk clerks have been admonished to make NO decisions on guest requests and
the "manager", to whom they are forced to defe,r is either off site or on his cell in the
parking lot.
3. The Dock manager is very territorial about his water front and choses to rest and
smoke under the limited umbrella tables while guest sit in the sun. Do not think
about interacting with him lest yee be forced to walk the plank!
4. If you are going to escape Chicagans..... keep driving north until you find OHIO money.
Much more pleasant that way
5. Saugatuck is not geared for the outdoor do it yourselfer. Great if you partake of local
offerings but bringing your own kayak, bikes, etc.... it is not set up for that..
6. No parking available on weekends... 3/4 mile walk at check in...
7. DO get the "Butler Burger" at the Singapore Yacht club!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ship-N-Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship-N-Shore Hotel

Address: 528 Water St, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Saugatuck
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, the Ship-N-Shore Hotel is Saugatuck's Ultimate Waterfront Address! We are within walking distance to all of downtown Saugatuck's many shops, boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. We offer a heated outdoor pool and hot tub, as well as free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ship `n Shore Hotel Saugatuck
Ship n Shore Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship-N-Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.