We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great long weekend getaway for couples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Shore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Shore Resort
Save
You added Lake Shore Resort to your Saves list
2885 Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 121, Saugatuck, MI 49453   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Saugatuck
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saline, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great long weekend getaway for couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was looking for a place on the beach within 3 hrs of Saline, and this was the only hotel that fit the bill. This is really not a resort, but a quaint old motel that has been nicely renovated. We had no complaints at all about the room, and the continental breakfast was superb, with homemade baked goods every morning. Most appealing to me was the availability of bicycles and kayaks (included). Behind the hotel are lovely wide trails for bikes or just walking. There are 3 fire rings that stay lit until 10 pm. Yes there is a long stairway down to the beach, but it's great exercise and the view from the bluff is amazing. Saugatuk is a 5 min drive, full of great shops and restaurants. Internet is only available in the lobby and cell phone reception is sketchy, but it is peaceful and romantic!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    39
    5
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
84
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holly, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I agree with other reviewers. The room did smell old and of chemicals.. I did not like having to cross a road and navigate 100 steps to the beach. I have some arthritis in my knees and those steps were terrible. The main draw, for me, was the water and the steps made it nearly impossible. This is not a resort, really just a plain old motel. The bed was so uncomfortable my back hurt the entire time While there, however, I did find several other locations that will work for me in the future, not nearly as expensive either!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful, quiet place with a great beach! Room smelled strongly of cleaning supplies which we remedied by opening the windows. However, the people next to us were sitting outside thier room smoking so that didn't work! A scented candle did the trick. Helpful staff at check-in! The rooms are almost clean and could use an update but we had a pleasant evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The room smelled when we entered it the first time. Like a real old building smell. Used air freshener and candle for all four days of visit. Thought room was clean but on the third day an additional smell of chemical cleanser prevailed. Turns out the stains in the bathroom were not permanent after all! There were problems with the plumbing too. And not just in our room but in all three rooms reserved by my family. The toilet flushed but barely and there were strange gurgling's which resulted in raw sewage coming up in the bathtub on the last morning. When I mentioned this to the woman at the desk (the owner, I guess) did we get a "sorry for your inconvenience" or anything. No, we were chided for not calling them immediately. "What would you do if there was a fire," she scolded. Uh, call 911? The place is not cheap even in off season and we will never stay there again. By the way, the resort is on a bluff separated by a road from the water. It's still a nice view but if you don't want to walk the 90 steps down, go to Oval Beach which isn't too far away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeLSR, Manager at Lake Shore Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I spoke to this guest on the fourth and last morning of her visit when she FIRST mentioned the toilet malfuntion. Within five minutes the toilet was working properly. Since the guest indicted she felt inconvenienced, understandably, I advised that I wished she had called the office at the time of the problem so we could have corrected it immediately. When she said she did not think there was anyone available at 6:00 am, I told her staff is available 24 hours to assist our guests or respond in the event of an emergency such as a fire.

With regard to the condition of the room, we place the highest priorty on cleanliness of our rooms and our record supports this concern. We are disappointed to hear something may have been overlooked by housekeeping. However, if we missed something, we would have appreciated knowing about it during this guest's 4 night stay to resolve the issue rather than hear about it for the first time on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Lake Shore Resort.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, something I am a bit of a stickler on as there is nothing worse than a dirty room that smells :( So for me to say it was clean and comfortable is saying something.
The staff was always available and helpful with any questions we had for them. The breakfast was centennial style with fresh (homemade?) muffins, fruit, yogurt and boiled eggs. Coffee and orange juice. All served in a nice clean kitchen/eating area.
The location of the resort was perfect for us. It is towards the end of Lake Shore Drive so there is very little vehicle traffic, so it was nice and quiet with no problems with taking a stroll on the road.
The views....AWESOME! Beautiful sunsets from many different vantage points, be it on the multi-level deck that leads down to Lake Michigan to the immaculately groomed grounds of the resort.
Star gazing was amazing as you looked over the lake sitting by one of two gas lit fire pits. Also a great vantage point was off the multi-level deck to watch the stars. I was able to see 4 shooting stars from that view.
If you’re looking for a nice quiet place to relax, take in some really beautiful views and rewind...this is the place for you.
I know that we will be going back many times as it really did the trick for us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have been staying at the Lake Shore Resort for over 10 years. Frequently the trip includes my mother & daughter. We love the quiet beauty of the resort. To the front, there is beautiful Lake Michigan with a lovely beach, in back are hiking trails in a wooded area, and in between are gorgeous gardens with small seating areas set up to maximize any view. The rooms are pleasant & immaculate. The staff is polite & helpful. The owners are on-site, but not intrusive. Usually after breakfast (provided by the resort), we head toward either Saugatuck or Holland for some shopping or to see the attractions. Then, we spend quiet time at the resort swimming in the lake or pool, looking at the scenery, hiking or reading before heading out to supper for some fine, casual dining. I can't imagine a year without a trip to Lake Shore Resort.

Room Tip: Call early--in April if possible, but all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This would be an amazing place to share with kids or grandkids in the summer. The hotel is old but clean and updated. No old smells. The staff very nice. Free bike use for an hour at a time. Plenty of fun things to do in the area. Art barn. Shopping. Dunes river boat rides.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Shore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Shore Resort

Address: 2885 Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 121, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View breathtaking sunsets... Walk the Lake Michigan Shoreline... Bike scenic Lakeshore Drive... Relax to gentle lake breezes. The Lake Shore Resort redefines relaxation. Lakeview rooms resting atop the bluff on the shore of Lake Michigan only 3 miles from downtown Saugatuck. Amenities include: private beach with lounge chairs and umbrellas (dependent on lake levels), kayaks, bikes, large heated pool, continental breakfast overlooking Lake Michigan, 2 miles of private nature trails, and much more. Come stay with us. Experience Saugatuck and Stay on Lake Michigan...it's GREAT! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Hotel Saugatuck
Lake Shore Saugatuck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Shore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.