We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saugatuck Dunes State Park

Saugatuck Dunes State Park
2213 Ottawa Beach Dr., Saugatuck, MI 49424
616-399-9390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 attractions in Saugatuck
Type: Beaches, State Parks, Cross-country Ski Areas
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The park's 850 acres include a beach, dunes and cross-country ski trails.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great trails that put you onto the beach. A little bit of a hike but not too bad as far as how in shape you need to be able to do it and enjoy it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    27
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ridiculous parking fee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This state park, like many, offers you a chance to take a walk through the woods. Only here you end up (depending on the trail you take) at Lake Michigan. A beautiful sight...and worth the 2.5 mile walk. Our trail was well-marked.

The downside is the fee charged to park at this park....$8. There's a ton of parking spots (we were there on an overcast October day)....so why does the fee need to be so high?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Fall Colors and Beautiful Lake Michigan Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We live nearby and frequently go to this park for Fall and Winter hikes. It has great sledding, and awesome ice formations in the winter. We don't tend to go in the summer because we use a closer and more private beach that time of year.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful in the fall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We knew it just as "Laketown" when we lived here and were surprised to see it was now a State Park. Thanks GOODNESS the State now has it and not another condo developer! The trails are well kept and the hike to the gorgeous sugar sand beach we remembered was still worth it. If you want to escape the touristy (but fun) area shopping, etc, take the short drive to this Park and enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for hiking and spending time on a beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very nice and quite place, very relaxing, especially on warm autumn day. there are number of hiking tracks and very nice beach. Recommended!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saugatuck Dunes State Park also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Saugatuck Dunes State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saugatuck Dunes State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Saugatuck Dunes State Park to your Saves list