We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach, easy access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oval Beach

Oval Beach
Saugatuck, MI
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Saugatuck
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Sunbathing, Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake Michigan Beach, popular for its clear water and nice sand.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice beach, easy access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm always pleasantly surprised by the beaches on the eastern side of Lake Michigan, I grew up on the east coast and love the ocean, this beach was no excpetion. It's easy to get to, great for families.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    81
    25
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a great place to spend the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This beach was the best Ive seen on Lake Michigan so far. The sand was awesome, it wasn't crowded at all. The picnic areas have an awesome view above the beach. Small fee for parking with easy access to the beach...... All round it was an excellent place to spend the day.

Only con of the place was there were alot of small stones just off the waters edge....but once you got 6ft off the shore it was sandy again.....a minor nuisance but a pair of water shoes would be nice here.

Can't wait to go back to this beach.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hortgirl
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I loved this beach. You can't see the beach at all before you reach the point where you must decide whether or not to pay for parking. This made us nervous, but we decided $6 was not a lot to gamble. Parking was easy, even on a sunny July 4th weekend at mid day.

The staff is friendly and accomodating, we changed in clean dressing stalls in the bathhouse and bought a soda at the concession stand.

There are natural dunes to the back of the beach, a string of dune grass and tree lined bluffs above it and easy wooden paths down to the sand and water. It is absolutely beautiful. Such a gem of tranquility after the crowds in Saugatuck.

More wave action than we saw at Silver Beach, but nothing too rough for children. Clean water and shallow for great wading out into the lake. Clean sand and gorgeous views. Can't wait to go back. We want to take advantage of the grills and pinic tables next visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gays everywhere, but no one made us feel out of place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We're a family from burbs of Chicago. We didn't know how gay this beach was. I didn't care, but my husband was annoyed to say the least...

I thought it was clean, nice people, and very scenic. There was one raunchy lesbian couple who were getting too frisky in the water near my kids. That was sort of obnoxious gay or straight. I've never done stuff like that in front of children...single or married.

Had fun! Kids had fun!! Husband was fine after we went to Morro's for pizza and he had a few captain and cokes.

I'd go back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Have your picnic here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a lovely beach with picnic tables easily accessible from the parking lot. There is a nice bench in the shade if you want to sit and not be in the sun. The beach is beautiful with a long stretch to walk or swim along (if the water is warm enough!). Be sure to visit the snack shop and try the Snicker's Sundae - chocolate ice cream with peanut butter cups, caramel and fudge sauce...yum! Parking was $6.00 per day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oval Beach also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Oval Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oval Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.