We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahh.. Pure Relaxation..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites to your Saves list
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   247 Butler Street, Saugatuck, MI 49453   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Ahh.. Pure Relaxation..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Tuscany cottage March 15- March 17 . We loved it!!! Everything was perfect, cozy and warm for our relaxing winter getaway. The breakfast basket in your room is a fabulous alternative to communal breakfasts at traditional b&b.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    21
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
193
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed in the Orleans Cottage Jan 31-Feb 2 and our weekend was wonderful. The cottage included every amenity we could have possibly needed: the continental breakfasts were fresh, the fireplace was especially nice given the weather, the movie selection was great, and the jacuzzi tub even came with bath salts. I loved being right in downtown Saugatuck; we will definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The location -- discreetly just off the main drag in downtown Saugatuck, with some parking -- and (in the cottages) privacy make this a nice option for a cozy weekend stay in this weekend-friendly town. Only thing missing from a typical B&B experience is a common breakfast room; supplies for a private breakfast (yogurt, muffins, cereals, coffee/feas, etc.) await in your room's minifridge. Whether that's a plus or minus depends on you. Congenial hosts who know the territory are, for sure, a positive.

Room Tip: The Tuscany Cottage provides maximum privacy, if that's a priority.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We went in March 2013 for a babymoon, and stayed in the New Orleans cottage for two nights. March in West Michigan is still cold and often snowy, so the location near multiple walkable great restaurants (as well as the folder with menus and personal recommendations in our room) was excellent. I am a neat freak (yes, I look at baseboards), and this tiny room was very clean. Bed even had washable duvet covers and blanket protectors so you knew that you weren't lounging on anything that wasn't your own cooties. Loved the kitchenette - well stocked with popcorn, coffee, teas, hot cocoa, granola bars, chocolates. Breakfast for the next morning was already there when we arrived the prior evening - milk, juice, fresh fruit, homemade muffins, yogurt. This was fantastic as it avoids the inevitable awkward table conversations guests may have at a more traditional b&b. Also, we used it as our snack food for the evening/next day. This room has a skylight, so in the winter can you enjoy both the warmth of the fire and have a bit of the precious daylight stream in and still have privacy. They provide robes, umbrellas, current movies, current magazines, etc. The jacuzzi was plenty big for two (clean!). While Saugatuck has much to offer in the winter, you could have stayed in this cozy room for two days and been happy.

Room Tip: Off season rates are a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was our first weekend away (alone!) since the birth of our son. We stayed it the Orleans suite, December 13th-15th and loved the quiet location-it was amazing we were in a downtown! The suite was cozy and romantic-if you could be snowed in any where, this is the place!!! We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed it the Orleans suite, Nov. 24-25th and loved the wonderfully decorated interior, the quiet location, and central location in downtown. Loved the fire place and how it warmed the room even though the temperatures outside was below freezing. The large whirlpool bath was an extra bonus after being outside. The perfect get away place. Looking forward to staying here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed November 19th through the 21st in the Tuscany Cottage. Jonathon and Gary were helpful and available but not intrusive. The cottage is nicely designed, furnished well, and very comfortable. The fireplace warms without overheating the cottage. Everything that we might need was provided, including umbrellas. The thoughtfulness about what guests need really stands out. The location.is both quiet and perfect for walking to the downtown shops and restaurants, which are part of the attraction of Saugatuck, home to several good art galleries.

Room Tip: The Tuscany Cottage is a separate building with a lovely side garden. Singing birds gathered in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Address: 247 Butler Street, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for guests seeking a more private Bed & Breakfast experience, these romantic getaways feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs for two, mini-kitchens, in-room continental breakfast and off-street parking. Located in the heart of downtown Saugatuck, steps away from everything. We wouldn't think of telling you how long your visit should be so there's never a minimum stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Garden Cottages And Suites
Hidden Garden Cottages Hotel Saugatuck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.