We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in Tuscan(y)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites to your Saves list
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   247 Butler Street, Saugatuck, MI 49453   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
December Escape
Ranked #2 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Stevensville, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overnight in Tuscan(y)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent our anniversary in Saugatuck recently (Oct 8), enjoying a wonderful dinner at Everyday People and a delightful overnight at Hidden Garden Cottage and Suites. Hidden Garden is tucked away and we had a little trouble even finding it at first. Our room was charming and more than well equipped for an overnight - for those wanting to stay longer, there is a nice little kitchen with adequate cookware and utensils. While we didn't have an opportunity to use it, the built in jacuzzi looked quite inviting. We hope to make it back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    21
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
187
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bourbonnais
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent the weekend of September 27, 2013 at Hidden Garden Cottages in the San Juan suite. We werenwithntwomother couples who also stayed in suites there. The suites had everything you will need and more. The location was ideal with shopping and restaurants just outside our door. It was our first time in Saugatuck and we look forward to going back again soon. Thank you for a perfect place to stay!!

Room Tip: Each cottage has a different theme and all of them are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morley, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My new husband and I were well taken care of at Hidden Garden Cottages after our wedding! It was a perfect relaxing weekend after the busiest day ever! We stayed in the Tuscany suite on 9/21 and 9/22. We loved being close to shopping and restaurants in town. I recommend this establishment for anyone visiting Saugatuck. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: We felt that the Tuscany was perfect for privacy since it is in a separate building from the other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH FLORIDA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Only stayed one night in the Kilimanjaro Suite and wish we had more time to spend. The location was great and ideal for walking around the town or to dinner. The suite was roomy and well appointed and reasonable priced especially since we were there the week following Labor Day. The in room continental breakfast was sufficient to fill us up and we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tawas, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012, had a wonderful time and knew we just had to came back. This time I brought my Brother and Brother In Law from California and they fell in love as well. Jonathan and Gary are exceptional hosts and were always willing to offer suggestions of where to go or provide some history of the city. The accommodations are spectacular,close to town, clean, spacious, tastefully decorated with items secured through their travels around the world, Jacuzzi in room, fireplace... as you can tell I could go on and on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We immensely enjoyed the Orleans Cottage for two nights while visiting Saugatuck. It is nestled inside a garden wall in the heart of the shopping district on Butler Street (how easy to drop off packages and head back out!) yet was wonderfully quiet, beautiful, and peaceful for sitting on the porch with a glass of wine. Jonathan and Gary have truly thought of everything - from robes, umbrellas, beach towels, breakfast waiting in the refrigerator, toaster oven, microwave, jacuzzi tub, movies, stereo, fireplace, great TV, plush towels - EVERYTHING - over-the-top clean, and they are perfect hosts! The garden was in full bloom complete with a lovely fountain, hummingbirds, and serenity to die for. I would tell everyone to go there, but I want it to be available when we return!

Room Tip: I would choose the Orleans or Tuscany cottages for the garden scene, but the rooms inside the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I just celebrated our 20th anniversary 2 weeks ago. We always said we would go back to Jamaica where we honeymooned. We have 2 teenage kids who have a very busy schedule, so to book something and be gone for so long wasn't in the cards for us. I did a little research on line and found Hidden Garden Cottages. It's a little scary to book something for such a special occasion sight unseen, but we did! We had the BEST time. It was actually better than our honeymoon! :) Every small detail was taken care of for us. It rained for part of the time, but our room actually had 2 umbrellas. Our cottage was secluded and so quiet. We loved sitting on the porch and watching the birds in the flower garden. The hosts were friendly and very helpful, but did a great job of giving you your space! We loved it and will definitely be back soon, Maybe this winter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Address: 247 Butler Street, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for guests seeking a more private Bed & Breakfast experience, these romantic getaways feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs for two, mini-kitchens, in-room continental breakfast and off-street parking. Located in the heart of downtown Saugatuck, steps away from everything. We wouldn't think of telling you how long your visit should be so there's never a minimum stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Garden Cottages And Suites
Hidden Garden Cottages Hotel Saugatuck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.