We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our room and private front porch in the Orleans!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites to your Saves list
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   247 Butler Street, Saugatuck, MI 49453   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
December Escape
Ranked #2 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“We loved our room and private front porch in the Orleans!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

The ORLEANS was great!!!! This place is very nicely appointed with a comprehensive breakfast.... The owners think of everything!! My mother and I stayed here and loved it. The Orleans is charming. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    21
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
187
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

I can't recommend this place enough. My adult daughter and I stayed here on a mother-daughter getaway weekend and were so pleased. We stayed in The Orleans which was roomy and gorgeous. The owners thought of every detail....from the q-tips and umbrellas in the room to the robes and extra pillows. Th.e bed is extremely comfortable. I was a bit concerned this suite might be small for us but no worries....it was plenty big and contained everything we needed from the whirlpool tub to the kitchenette and front porch!! The breakfast is in your frig so you can enjoy it at your leisure. I thought before I came....with no hot breakfast we can always go out for breakfast if we want to....no need! The homemade muffins are heavenly and come with a big bowl of perfectly ripened and diced fruit like strawberries, pineapple, raspberries, blackberries, and grapes. There was also yogurt, cereal, granola bars, milk, coffee, tea and juice. It was extremely good and fresh. They have a comprehensive DVD and CD collection.

Perhaps the very BEST PART of this B&B is that it is directly smack dab in the heart of town and all the shopping, but somehow feels so private and cozy, as if you are away from everything!!!!! The grounds are well-maintained and beautiful, with beautiful porches overlooking the gardens. Jonathon and Gary could not have been more gracious and accommodating!! We will be back!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The rooms were great (we stayed in the Orleans and Kilimanjaro). And the owners were really nice. It is located right in the middle of town, so you can walk everywhere. The breakfast was continental but still very good and homemade.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algonquin il
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed in the San Juan Suite which was actually a small little apartment overlooking the downtown. It was perfect for a weekend visit, it had all of the amenities of home. There were nice little treats, fresh fruit and muffins for breakfast as well as yogurt, cereal, oatmeal and juice. Popcorn and granola bars were there to nibble on. The fireplace and jacuzzi tub added just a touch of romance.
The location is perfect right in the center of town so you could walk all over. I especially enjoyed walking in the neighborhood behind the B and B.

Room Tip: The San Juan room had a small kitchen and separate living room but there was not outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Had a wonderful baby-moon weekend here, friendly owners. Soaking tub was awesome! Excellent location downtown so we could walk around. Only thing we could have asked for was for a bigger bed but that ranks lower on the priority scale.

Room Tip: kilimanjaro is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We were in the Tuscany Cottage March 2-4, 2012. It was the perfect weekend, the breakfast wonderful and Gary was a pleasure to meet. We felt as though we had our own secluded place in the world, it was absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: The Tuscany was in a free standing building completely separate from the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I received a gift certificate from our daughter and husband as a gift for a stay here. We chose to use it for a getaway on February 16 and 17th to celebrate David's birthday and just run away for a couple of days! We stayed in the Tuscany Cottage and it couldn't have been a better place to go hide and relax. The fireplace created the warmth and the mood of the decor created the peace we were seeking at this time. We enjoyed local restaurants in Douglas and Saugatuck without the summer crowds. We hope to return and stay in the Tuscany when the weather allows us to sit on the front stoop and sip on some wine while we watch people pass by. Thank you to our wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Address: 247 Butler Street, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for guests seeking a more private Bed & Breakfast experience, these romantic getaways feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs for two, mini-kitchens, in-room continental breakfast and off-street parking. Located in the heart of downtown Saugatuck, steps away from everything. We wouldn't think of telling you how long your visit should be so there's never a minimum stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Garden Cottages And Suites
Hidden Garden Cottages Hotel Saugatuck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.