We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to "chill" with a beer.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Dock Cafe

Red Dock Cafe
219 North Union St, This place is in Douglas, not Saugatuck, Saugatuck, MI 49406
269.857.2185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 50 restaurants in Saugatuck
Price range: $3 - $10
Restaurant details
Grand Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to "chill" with a beer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The area gets very crowded in the Summer with to many tourists (especially from Chicago) but, you can usually have a beer here and enjoy the local flavor and excellent views. Red Dock is on (pier) the water and features the usual bar fare for food - it is good though. Beer is not craft style - think PBR. Ther music can be too loud if you sit a the bar so, opt for a table. Small boats can and do pull up and tie off. A few bikers occasionly show up but, everyone gets along just fine. Stop by if you are in the area between Memorial Day and Labor Day but, leave the BMW or the Prius at home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    23
    9
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good place for a drink or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We've been coming to the area for a few years and just now finally found the Red Dock. We were hoping to grab one of the sandwiches everyone talks about but with the lack of seating we decided to just grab a few drinks which were poured quite well. This is a great place to just chill on a nice summer afternoon, we were here on a Sunday night which was a very busy night since it seems they have live music each Sunday. Our only complaints were the lack of seating and accepting cash only. Although more seating would be nice, it may also take away from the unique dock feeling so I guess if we want to try the food we'll try to swing by a little earlier in the day next time. I'm sure we'll make our way back here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place to Relax and Take in the Beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

On a recent visit to the Saugatuck/Douglas area, my wife and I came upon a hidden gem, the Red Dock, where Reggae music plays in the backdrop of a glorious view of Saugatuck Harbor. We didn’t eat, so I cannot comment on the food, but we each enjoyed a rum punch, the drink of the day, while chatting with other friendly vacationers as the breeze blew through our hair and the drinks helped any problems fade away. With the music spinning in our ear and the water bobbing before our eyes with seagulls floating in the air, it had a true Jamaican feel. The drinks were a bit pricey, but worth it, and the service was great. It is just a fun place to stop and enjoy a beautiful day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Felt like a mini vacation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled upon Red Dock Cafe on a visit to Saugatuck yesterday. It was a sunny windy day. We got there at 3:30, choose a picnik table outside, right by the water. There was a band coming at 4:00. The waitress was quick to serve us. The band came and sat up, the place got packed! Boat docked next to the dock to enjoy the band. I felt like I was at a bar in key west or maybe Southern California. Te band was Greg and my husband and i felt like we had been on a mini vacation. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a great hangout place with the prefect view of Saugatuck harbor - from the Douglas side. Drinks are great, staff friendly and fast. A must visit

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Dock Cafe also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Red Dock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Dock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.