We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Not Just A Bar And Grille” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phil's Bar & Grille

Phil's Bar & Grille
215 Butler St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9493
+1 269-857-1555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Saugatuck
Price range: $3 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It's Not Just A Bar And Grille”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The menu selection was amazing, and high-end as compared to most "Pub fare." Look for the theater marquee that doesn't appear to be a restaurant - or use your GPS. The Duck Quesadilla was absolutely amazing, as was the chocolate torte.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    137
    35
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice place to eat! Great atmosphere! Wished I would have had the wings....they looked fantastic...our meal was very yummy. Really surprised that we hit it at just the right time, because normally there is a big wait!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food in a great little town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I made a stop in Saugatuck on our way to Traverse City per the recommendation of a friend of mine. I sure am glad we did. Phil's had the best lake perch we've tasted in Michigan. The portobello fries were outstanding too. The service in our experience wasn't great but we were able to look past that because the food was just that good! Eat at Phil's, I promise you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After reading the reviews we decided to try Phil's Bar & Grille last week when in Saugatuck.
At first seeing it from a distance we thought it was a small movie theater. Cute signage. We we entered around 6:00 the place was already jumping which gave us a great first impression.
We took a table outside and ordered a salad, perch sandwich and cheese/cherry dip. It was a difficult decision because so many options sounded wonderful. My husband really enjoyed the dip but it was not my taste. However the salad and perch were both wonderful. The lettuce, fresh and crisp. The perch light and delicious. We would recommend and will stop back the next time in Saugatuck.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saguatuck, MI
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Food, Bad Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Read the other reviews, food and service is good. The one bad is that they allow children to sit at the bar. I mean, here you are, having a nice drink and someone will sit their kid at the bar next to you and the child may or may not be well behaved. The worse time for this is during the evening rush. Families are waiting for a table. If you are like us, you sit at the bar and order your meal. Part of the reason you eat at the bar is you are tired of getting tables next to crying kids. Bingo, there you are, little Billy is getting whiny from waiting so they sit him next to you at the bar so he can watch the game. Next comes his little cars that he plays with on the bar, crayons, and then spilled coke. Not good. Hey, management and bartender, get that kid out of there, some adult will sit, have a couple of cocktails, that's $20 income and $3 in tips. And, you won't anger the other adults at the bar. Is this even legal, kids at the bar?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Bar & Grille also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Phil's Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phil's Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.