We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Gables Restaurant

Coral Gables Restaurant
220 Water, Saugatuck, MI 49453
269-857-2162
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 50 Restaurants in Saugatuck
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Saugatuck, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The food is average at best, but the upper deck for lunch is a fantastic place to enjoy the beautiful views of Saugatuck. Sit, relax and enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    33
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We enjoyed our waterfront lunch on the sundeck at Coral Gables. They portions were very large and the selection was familiar. They only have a few local wine selections, but it was still a nice place to stop in. The only downside was that service was really slow, even though they were not busy. We were half finished before anyone checked on the food and only got a refill of water just before we left. I would normally use my card but I paid cash so we wouldn't have to wait for her to return...

Good food, but don't go unless you have some time to kill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Drinks on the deck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had a great time sitting on the deck over the water. The drinks were nice. There was a man singing. I will definitely be back and hope to eat there next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, crappy food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had never been to Saugatuck, so we took a tip from a local and decided to try Coral Gables. We got a great spot out on the deck overlooking all of the boats, and the weather was perfect. Our server was friendly and promptly brought us drinks and took our order. We ordered the spinach artichoke dip, and each ordered the French Dip. Pretty hard to screw up, right? Well, first it took forever to get the food. Forever, as in, the four customers at the next table were seated after us, ordered, ate pasta, burgers, and a salad, and were getting their bill before our food even came. Well, finally the appetizer and sandwiches came out at the same time. The sandwich was pretty much a dried up, stale bun about the size of a hotdog bun. Throw on a few shreds of completely dried out, flavorless beef, a piece of provolone, and half a cup of watered down beef broth for dipping, and there you go. The beef tasted like reheated leftover roast beef. Add 50 cents extra for hard, COLD fries instead of chips. And, the greasy spinach artichoke dip is still talking back to me. Sorry Coral Gables, but we're a little disappointed about losing $38 for such a crappy dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our second visit to Coral Gables and we were hoping that our first experience was a fluke. The second time was just as disappointing. The service was atrocious - we were honestly concerned about the mental faculties of our waitress. She brought drinks to our table that weren't ordered and were meant for other tables, but managed to forget half of our food order. At one point, another server stepped in to offer assistance, as our waitress was clearly having issues handling our group of five. Go anywhere else but here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Gables Restaurant also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Coral Gables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Gables Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.