We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great reason to visit Saugatuck in the "off" season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chequers of Saugatuck

Chequers of Saugatuck
220 Culver, Saugatuck, MI 49453
269-857-1868
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 50 Restaurants in Saugatuck
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A great reason to visit Saugatuck in the "off" season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have been here several times before. I couldn't quite give it an excellent rating since there have been an occasional glitch from time to time. The atmosphere is always warm and inviting and the food is great. That last time we went was a few weeks ago and they were understaffed. It is hard for them to predict how busy they are going to be in the off season. They did their best and it turned out to be great evening. Great British beers help a lot. I've been to England, this isn't it but I'll give them credit for trying! I've had ribs, steak, shepherds pie, chicken pot pie and most recently fish and chips. I'd order anyone of them again. Prices are reasonable

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    17
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otsego
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointment1”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Have been a long time fan of Chequers but not any longer. Food was bad and over priced and service was horrible. Had Fish and Chips which no one could touch before and now I believe frozen Fish and Chips would be better. French Fries soggy and possibly frozen to start with. Waiter did not offer refills on water or ice tea. Waiter was not very attentive. I reflected this in my tip. One gentleman (possible new owner) spent most of time telling stories to one table who apparently was a friend of his. However, he ignored everyone else in the restaurant. Don't waste your time or money.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dependable brit pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice atmosphere (Great English antiques/posters), friendly waiter. Fantastic Bangers and Mash (which you don't see on menus much). I love the brit-centric selection, so much better than many place's "pub fare".

I wish they had more on tap, but was still able to order something I really wanted bottled.

I try to eat here whenver in Saugatuck and am never disappointed when it works out (it's not always open when I'm in town).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Only good thing is the atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Chequers 3 to 4 times a year just to sit at the bar for drinks while listening to a local wonderful amazingly talented musican. On a recent Saturday night we were joined by friends and decided to eat dinner since the bar was full. The one and ONLY server gave us menus immediately but we received very poor service for the remainder of the evening. We started with the Welsh Rarebit appetizer which is melted cheese served with pieces of ordinary white toast. Cheese wasn't very warm to begin with. We asked for additional toast and by the time the server brought a plate with a single toasted (leftover?) bun the cheese was cold. It would have been nice if he offered to warm up the cheese if he knew it was going to take forever... and why a toasted BUN? No thank you. Had to ask repeatedly for more water after waiting what seemed as an unreasonably long time for additional drinks. Prices are a little high to give the impression that the food is something special. Not so much . My thoughts are if the new management is cutting back on the service they are also cutting back in the kitchen And it shows.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegan, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food, but a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had read a review about their chicken pot pie, so decided to head over for dinner. My sister and I each had a chicken pot pie and my husband had the sheperds pie. Both were good and large orders, which is why they may have been priced at $13 and $14 (overpriced). My husband also had a bowl of potato soup, which was good (not great), but was $6 (it was a bowl of soup). Also $2.79 for a soda or tea is a bit steep. If I'm craving a chicken pot pie, maybe I'll stop by.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chequers of Saugatuck also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Chequers of Saugatuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chequers of Saugatuck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.