We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Touch of England” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Bay Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oak Bay Guest House to your Saves list
Oak Bay Guest House
1052 Newport Avenue, Oak Bay, British Columbia V8S 5E3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Oak Bay B&B and Inns
Andover, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Touch of England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Loved this B&B! The owners are very helpful and it seems like this extends to the entire family. I am English and wanted to stay at a guest house away from the tourists but still close to the center of Victoria. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms unique - very Victoria in style! The only complaint I have is that the walls are very thin and I could hear some people talking downstairs and someone in the next room tinkering around in the closet.

The food was excellent at breakfast and the service wonderful! Highly recommend this Guest House!

Room Tip: All rooms are good although check that your room has a bathroom - some don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    24
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
58
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Oak Bay Guest House for 2 nights while visiting Victoria. We were glad we chose to stay out of the city and were able to relax by the sea after a busy day. The breakfasts were amazing! I have never eaten a breakfast so beautifully prepared and presented. Our room was very comfortable. A bonus for us was a member of staff who was a keen birder and was able to tell us about local places to visit. We will certainly tell others about the Guest House and hope to return ourselves one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Oak Bay Guest House was very comfortable, clean and in a beautiful location. It turned 100 years old this year, which, of course, gives it loads of character. However, some simple updating would go a long way. Our shower curtain was one of those that hang from the ceiling, which is almost impossible to have a shower without it hugging your body. Opted for the tub, which was peeling on the bottom and the plug was so old that it was cracked and never worked. The bathroom also had an old pedestal sink, so there was very little space to put any of your toiletries. They have really kept the decor with the 100 year old theme, which is very classic, however, some simple updates for comfort would freshen it up and provide more comfort.

Otherwise, we found our one night stay very pleasant. Breakfast was fine, hospitality was great and I loved the comfortable lounge with some refreshments they had available to weary travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a beautiful historic property! In a great location, a quiet residential neighbourhood very close to downtown Victoria. The hosts were warm and friendly people! Delicious breakfasts....and tasty muffins to-go, very thoughtful! We stayed in the Oriental Suite, which was very spacious and comfortable. Enjoyed relaxing in the guest lounge upstairs, where we could read, play games, or watch TV in the evenings, as well as fix our own coffee/tea when we desired. Such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here in July for three nights after arriving in Vancouver the previous day. We wanted to relax a bit after the flight from London. The guest house is a beautiful old house full of character and in a great location. It is a short walk from the sea and a convenient short drive into Victoria where parking is fairly easy. A nice breakfast with different muffins everyday to go! Egli and Derek are excellent hosts and very helpfull with their knowledge of the local area. There is an upstairs lounge overlooking the lovely garden where coffee and tea is available and a fridge for guests' use. We had the Garden room which is double aspect and has its own bathroom on the otherside of the hallway. There are local restaurants in Oak Bay including the Penny Farthing which is good value and in Victoria, a very nice Italian restaurant called Pagliaccis which does very nice food.
Thanks Derek, Egli and your staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this B&B once before because we enjoyed it so much. We were just there again this past weekend, and once again had a fabulous time.
The rooms are delightful and wonderfully decorated. The bed and the linens were so comfortable.
The sun room is amazing and comfortable, and its so nice NOT to have TV screens blasting you from every corner of the room.
The staff are very polite and will do anything to make you more comfortable, and the breakfasts!
Your choice to 1 of 2 entrees, juices, fruit, coffee or tea.
We will be back, thanks once again....Ian and Karen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

big old .house. extremely welcoming host and hostess. really made my daughter and i feel at home. the rooms are lovely, spacious and well themed. comfortable and peaceful. the amazing breakfasts and picnic muffins 'to go' make you feel like they are really making an effort for you to to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Guest House

Address: 1052 Newport Avenue, Oak Bay, British Columbia V8S 5E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Oak Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victoria Bed and Breakfast, located in BC, Canada, is a gracious 1912 Victorian Home, designed by Samuel Maclure. This home was converted to the Newport Inn in 1922 and has been accommodating travelers to Victoria since then.Oak Bay's only Bed and Breakfast, close to University of Victoria and CamosunEnjoy the tranquility of a traditional English home in the heart of Oak Bay Village, steps from the Sea, the new luxurious Oak Bay Beach Hotel, yet just minutes from the hustle and bustle of Victoria's Inner Harbour and the Empress Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Oak Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Guest House Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Bay Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.