We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent , great choice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta dos Poetas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta dos Poetas to your Saves list
Quinta dos Poetas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pechao-Estoi, Pechao, Olhao 8700-245, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pechao
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent , great choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I definitely have a soft spot for small hotels and this one does not disappoint on any level. The owner and staff really do know about hospitality and they made us feel very welcome and very relaxed. My only regret was that we didn't get the opportunity to try the restaurant as it was closed in January. However, we were told in advance and could have easily gone out to a nearby place, but we chose not to for personal reasons. However, we enjoyed good wine and wonderful home made toasted sandwiches by the log fire instead. So no problem there, truly memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    28
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
75
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Rural Quinta dos Poetas on NYE 2012 and stayed for two nights. It was hard to find the hotel; we mistakenly relied on our GPS to get us to the hotel (which it didn't), so ask the hotel for directions or map out the directions beforehand. You definitely need a car at this hotel because there's not much within walking distance.

We had previously exchanged email corrrespondences with the staff to book NYE dinner at the hotel restaurant (the hotel promptly responds to emails). We were so pleased by the NYE dinner. The hotel restaurant is a nice 5 minute walk from the hotel. The restaurant staff was so welcoming; the chef came out to speak with us throughout our meal and even gave us a glass of port after dessert. We felt like we were celebrating with our family. The food was very good (5 course meal for approximately 50-60 euros), with constant wine and water service. The restaurant also accommodated our toddler son (they had a high chair and changing table in the bathroom).

The hotel grounds are wonderful; there is a walking trail around the back grounds of the property, two play areas for children, a pool, and putt putt /golfing area.

The hotel itself is modest but inviting. Our room (facing the front of the hotel) was a little small compared to our other hotel rooms in Portugal, but was sufficient. Room was simply decorated but very clean. Wifi is limited to the lobby area only. Breakfast was good -- cheese, fruit, cereals, breads, cakes, juices, yogurt, and coffee.

Hotel management was always present and willing to help, and I was truly impressed that every time I was in the lobby I saw the owners.

We found our stay at this hotel a refreshing break from the hotels we stayed at in Lagos and Lisbon. Highly recommend this hotel for those looking for a little R&R and a change of scenery from the standard hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

What can i say, we've stayed in some of the best hotels world wide and yes when you've found this one your in for a real treat. Quiet, peaceful, so friendly, the owner is always on hand. The rooms are superb. If we had paid twice the price we wouldn't have questioned it. Its fantastc value, ultra clean, longing to return asap, already booked next years flight. One micro mini moan, the bed although massive was a little too hard for me, please don't that influence you though

Room Tip: dont quibble about overlooking the pool area the back of the hotel is much cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

TheQuinta dos Poetas was FIRST Class-food-room-the Restaurant food and service was magnificent.

If you want a quiet lovely location with good guests,nice rooms fabulous Restaurant and top Management look no further.

We had a wonderful stay

Many thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel. It is slightly difficult to find but well worth the effort.
It is a small hotel in the middle of the countryside and less than 30 minutes from Faro airport, making it ideal for late flights into the Algarve or early flights out.
Nice pool area with plenty of sun loungers.
It has a wonderful restaurant serving excellent prepared meals at very reasonable prices. Definitely worth going to the hotel for the food alone.
My only complaint is that the beds are too hard. They are good quality but too firm for my weary body.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The hotel is really in the middle of nowhere and you need transport to make the most of your holiday. Once you find the hotel it is excellent in every way. The whole hotel is very clean, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the food is great!
Being isolated suited us as we prefer the countryside to the hustle and bustle of large towns.
The grounds are spacious with plenty of seats around so you could relax and enjoy the peace and quiet.
What finally sold the hotel to us is they catered for my wife's gluten intolerance. This made our stay much more relaxing. On the subject of food, the restaurant was a bit of a trek away being on the opposite side of the grounds. The walk was well worthwhile as the food offered was excellent. You could go a la carte or choose the set menu, which consisted of three courses for a very reasonable price. The meal was waiter served, much better than the usual buffet service that is offered elsewhere.
I would unconditionally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 8 days for our friend's Golden Wedding Anniversary party as did many of the other party guests. It is a very friendly family run hotel in a beautiful, peaceful setting. Breakfast was very good with lovely fresh fruit, cereals, fresh rolls, continental breakfast meat and cheese etc and hot breakfast cooked on request. The restaurant food may not be cheap but is excellent quality and excellent value for money. The location is in the country but central for lots of lovely places to visit with a car. Staff couldn’t have been more friendly or helpful but the atmosphere was relaxed and informal. I cannot praise the hotel enough and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: First floor rooms overlooking pool have small balconys although the view is good on both sides of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta dos Poetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta dos Poetas

Address: Pechao-Estoi, Pechao, Olhao 8700-245, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao > Pechao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pechao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta dos Poetas 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most beautiful natural scenery that the Algarve has to offer, Quinta dos Poetas brings together the best that can be expected of a rural Portuguese hotel: A warm and familiar environment, tranquillity, comfort, proximity to the beach and excellent gastronomy. The hotel offers a restaurant, bar, large pool, beautiful gardens, jogging track, gymnasium, games room, free wi-fi, putting green and private parking. The rooms feature enhanced decorations have the most modern conditions of comfort: air conditioning, LCD TV, free wi-fi, telephone, minibar, safe, fully equipped bathroom, bathrobe and hairdryer. A few minutes by car or bicycle rented in the Hotel, you can explore the Ria Formosa Natural Park, one of the natural wonders of Portugal, known for its beautiful beaches and islands or the interior of the Algarve mountain range and their rural villages, a journey marked by the interaction between Nature, Heritage, Rural Life, Tradition, Innovation and Knowledge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quinta dos Poetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Dos Poetas Olhao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta dos Poetas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.