We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Surprised and Pleased with the Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boulevard Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boulevard Inn to your Saves list
Boulevard Inn
521 Lake Boulevard, Saint Joseph, MI 49085   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
slucid01
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Surprised and Pleased with the Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I enjoyed our stay at the BLVD, the room was clean and very nice. We had some unfortunate problems with the water in the room and they upgraded our room for no additional charge! I was pleased with their customer service and staff. Even after the the small problem and the room switching I would still come back and stay at the BLVD.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    60
    20
    18
    7
See reviews for
43
53
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We live in Cincinnati & wanted to go somewhere with a beach that wasn't 12 hrs. away. I had been to St. Josephs about 10 years ago and we thought we'd try it. It was difficult to decide on a hotel because most seemed to have bad reviews and it seemed a little scary what we'd find. Also, we wanted a lake view and to be as close to the beach as possible. We have traveled a lot and are used to staying in very nice hotels.

We decided to try the Boulevard Inn and had a really wonderful experience. The location is amazing. We could walk to the nicest beach around as well as the restaurants and shops. We have 4 kids aged 3-12 and it was great to have two seperate rooms. The older kids slept on the sleeper sofa and had their own tv and we were able to sleep with the younger kids in the other room. The room was definitely clean which was a big concern of mine. We had a lake view which was amazing. The place had a lot of charm. The staff was friendly...not in your face talking your ear off friendly, but they were very pleasant and accomodating. The breakfast was included and really helped with our big family. We ate in the morning and really were not hungry until dinner - they had lots of good breakfast options. I would definitely recommed this hotel for a great family getaway!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

What this hotel has going for it:
- the rooms are not disgusting.
- the breakfast buffet is extensive and complimentary, and even tasty.
- the entryway is nice.
- there is ample free parking.
- the hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the beach, shopping and restaurants in St. Joe, and a short car ride to beaches in Benton Harbor.

What is strange about this hotel:
- the staff seems very young and not professional (this includes the front desk and the bistro). It was confusing when, right after room service came and went, we got a call asking whether our order should be charged to the room. And when my wife was refilling her tea cup at the buffet, the waitstaff was so busy packing things up (Sunday breakfast ends promptly at ten apparently) that a waitress nearly crawled under my wife's dress to reach something under the table.
- the room itself. We paid extra for a suite because no other rooms were available. The layout of the sitting room and bedroom seemed both chaotic and oppressive. How many different wallpaper patterns can be composed of brown and beige? Mouldings began and ended at random points around the ceiling. The tv was encased in an armoire in the middle of the room - it looked like it should hold a mini bank safe. The ceiling and parts of the walls were vintage dorm-room textured cement.
- the price. More square footage does not a suite make.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Stayed there for two nights. We have been there before and stayed on the side overlooking the lake - gorgeous views. This time we stayed on the opposite side with a town view - still not bad Couldn't get the room cool enough for the unseasonably warm spring weather. Breakfast is included and it's a good spread. Dinner, however, is a bit expensive and the prices in the bar are a more than a bit high ($14.00 for an Oban). Furniture is a bit worn and the rooms could use a bit of painting and rehab. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. When prices go sky high after Memorial Day, will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

I love this town, its quiet, small and has a great beach. However there arent alot of choices for places to stay. I normally stay at a local B&B but we traveled with friends so we both booked rooms at the Boulevard.

Lobby is nice, outdoor dining is nice, bar area nice, continential breakfast was decent. However, front desk staff was standoff-ish, not overly friendly or helpful. ANd the room, oh my the room! It was straight out of 1985, from the stained furniture to bedding to beds. Our AC was broken and smelled as though it was burning, they couldnt move us due to being full. So we slept in a warm room with a bad small on a hard bed!

Front desk and mai ntenance staff wasnt very helpful, took hours to repair, and offered only a small discount after a long procedure and a hot day! Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Work brought me to St. Joseph, and this hotel was at the top of the list of recommended hotels.

Check in was fine, although the front desk staff was the least friendly I have encountered during my recent business travels.

My room was a two-room suite, with a small kitchen area and living room and a separate bedroom. My first thought upon entering the bedroom was "wow, for a nice hotel, this looks like a cheap motel." The bedspread was very 70's and the t.v. was an ancient model. I liked that the sink and mirror were outside the bathroom -- but the bathroom could definitely use some updating (dirty grout, dim lighting).

As critical as this review seems, the room was super quiet, the bed was very comfortable . . . and I had the most incredible view of Lake Michigan out my window. So despite the above, I'd definitely return to the hotel if my travels brought me back to St. Joseph.

There is a restaurant in the hotel -- The Bistro on the Boulevard -- that I have reviewed separately.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

This hotel is in a fabulous location, walking distance to the beach, shopping, restaurants etc.. The hotel has a beautiful lobby and the reception person was very efficient and helpful. The rooms are a very nice 2 room suites and very clean. Loved that they had to 2 TV'S- one in the bedroom and one in th sitting room. The decor leaves a little to be desired - very 70's - 80's. Definately need to get rid of the wallpaper.
Breakfast is included and was very nice. Good selection of hot and cold foods.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulevard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard Inn

Address: 521 Lake Boulevard, Saint Joseph, MI 49085
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in our newly remodeled all-suite accommodations at The Boulevard Inn, ideally nestled atop the bluff overlooking Lake Michigan. Allow our courteous staff to anticipate your needs and exceed your expectations! Quaint shops, gorgeous beaches, and an abundance of dining options are located just a short walk from our hotel in St. Joseph, Michigan. As our guest, you'll enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast served in the Bistro on the Boulevard each morning. While you're here, delight in lunch, dinner or cocktails served in the area’s most highly regarded restaurant. Our signature style takes advantage of local, fresh, seasonal ingredients simply and elegantly prepared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Boulevard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Hotel Saint Joseph

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulevard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.