We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor seating!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rye Belles

Rye Belles
518 Broad Street, Saint Joseph, MI 49085
269-281-0318
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 79 restaurants in Saint Joseph
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bridgman, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outdoor seating!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Whether you want a meal or just stop for a glass of wine, their deck overlooks Lake Michigan, so the scenery is as good as the food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    25
    17
    17
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coloma
1 review
“May 26, 2013 meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Late afternoon meal for four on the rooftop. Two adults and two teens and we each cleaned our plates of sirloin steak, chicken salad, "chicken fingers" and burger. Appetizer was bruschetta which was a nice and crunchy alternative though not really $8 worthy. Waitress attended to our needs very well. Upon using the men's room on the way out I was overwhelmed upon entering by the smell of urinals that badly need disinfecting and cleaning. Perhaps automatic infra red flush valves need to be installed to help do the job but a dirty or smelly bathroom does not reflect well upon an establishment. This is one area which is being overlooked.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cozy place in the winter, with roof top dining in the summer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had been been planning to visit this for quite some time, and the opportunity this last Friday, when a favorite restaurant of mine not open. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming with paneled walls and lit fireplace, perfect for the snowy evening. Though it was a little later, the bar which I had heard about, was somewhat crowded, and looked like a great place to stop for a drink. The food had the basic items, nothing I hadn't seen before, and the meal was fine, nothing special. It was somewhat difficult to have a conversation due to the noise from the bar, which is nothing abnormal, and the service was very friendly and helpful, but she seemed to be waiting on half the restaurant, so not staffed as you might expect. I will return to give this another try, for either the bar, or a chance to eat on the roof deck, which I am sure has fantastic views. Though my meal was decent, with many other good restaurants in the area, this wouldn't be my first choice, but I definitely would visit it again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ryebelle's has a wonderful variety of entrees from artisan pizza to lobster ravioli. Excellent service, good wine selection. Make a reservation, because it is a popular place, winter or summer.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Racist Owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Food is mediocre. Owner is racist. Too bad, because it's the only place in Southwest Michigan with a rooftop view of the lake. If you care about people, DON'T eat here!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rye Belles also viewed

Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 

Been to Rye Belles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rye Belles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.