We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice change of pace for the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ban Thai

Ban Thai
2936 Niles Avenue, Saint Joseph, MI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 85 Restaurants in Saint Joseph
Cuisines: Thai
Description: Phone number is (269) 983-2989.
Restaurant details
Description: Phone number is (269) 983-2989.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice change of pace for the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

St Joe has every fast food place you can think of so I was happy to find a Thai restaurant. The food was okay. It was not the best Thai food I have eaten. But it was much better than the other options!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niles, MI
2 reviews
“Great Place with Wonderful Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Very small but clean and well-decorated. Service is extremely fast and pleasant. The longest we've ever waited for our food was on Valentine's Day and it was no longer than an average weeknight at any other restaurant (and the owner apologized more than once for our wait). Food is always delicious and seems fairly authentic. (I've never been to Thailand, but based on other restaurants and what others have told me, I think it's more authentic than not...) Portions aren't huge, but sufficient. Prices are reasonable. I highly recommend this restaurant and eat there whenever I have the chance.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton Harbor, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Does not take care of all customers.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Whenever I call for take out, the owner tells me he is too busy taking care of his guests dine in and can't do to go orders. A customer is a customer and I am tired of it.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevensville, MI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great break from the ordinary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This area doesn't have much ethnic food beyond Mexican and Italian. Ban Thai is a wonderful break from the more mundane restaurant choices. I have no idea how authentic it is, having never been to Thailand, but I do know I like it alot. I usually order spring rolls, chicken satay and green curry. Friends have ordered beef dishes; everyone has liked what they get. A friend recently went there for her first time, and it is now her favorite restaurant!

The restaurant itself is very unassuming -- in a strip mall, with a very small awning out front. The interior is likewise small, but is nicely decorated. The staff are knowledgeable and responsive. They serve a smaller lunch menu, and a full dinner menu. They also have take-out. No, it isn't as cheap as the Burger King across the street, but you won't find this kind of food at Burger King!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Only thai food in St. Joe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Pretty decent thai food for the area. Never have eaten in the restaurant, always order take out. Shrimp shumai is excellent, green curry is very good and the pad thai is decent. Overall prices aren't ridiculous and for the area the thai food is pretty good

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ban Thai also viewed

Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 

Been to Ban Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ban Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.