We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cassava's Restaurant, St. Joseph, MI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cassava's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cassava's
518 Broad Street, Saint Joseph, MI
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Cuban
Description: They are right in downtown St. Joseph and overlook Lake Michigan. The are doesn't have that many good restaurants, most touristy stuff and this restaurant specializes in Latin American cuisine. Just ate there this weekend and both the food and service were excellent! People should know about this place!
Restaurant details
Description: They are right in downtown St. Joseph and overlook Lake Michigan. The are doesn't have that many good restaurants, most touristy stuff and this restaurant specializes in Latin American cuisine. Just ate there this weekend and both the food and service were excellent! People should know about this place!
Buchanan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cassava's Restaurant, St. Joseph, MI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I especially like the menu because it offers Latin cusine. Everything I have eaten there has been tasty. I have given it a four because the food is somewhat slow in arriving. Prices are average for a quality dinner.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food let down by mediocre service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I just love their tilapia, but their wait staff seems annoyed to have to do their jobs. Lighten up and be friendly...you guys like tips, don't you?

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“It could have been so much better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The service was excruciatingly slow. The food was just OK, but had no flavor or spice. Not what I experienced when actually in South America! The ambiance was dinette-American with no Latin influences or designs. Not even any faux-Mayan/ Aztec/ Incan art.

The music was Puerto Rican and Dominican with no real South American styles. The waitress and maitre D' knew nothing about the specials or what was in the food.

Foe what we received, it was over-priced, though filling. Would not go back again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Newest Cool Place to Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The service was perfect. I was concerned after reading several reviews stating service slow, so when I the waiter took our order I told him we needed to be somewhere by "X" time. He staged the delivery perfectly for appetizer and meals, we weren't rushed and we made our appointment just fine. The atmosphere is intimate but great for people watching. The food was good quality and nicely presented ~ the plantain chips & salsa were awesome as was the cilantro hummus. Also had the Cassava Ceviche which was just okay to me, it was the first time I've had ceviche and it's not something I would get again anywhere. Tacos were on special and they were good as well. We'll be back & I'll tell everyone I know to check Cassava's out.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved the food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We wanted something different and this certainly fit the bill. We were starved and arrived when they opened at 4:00 on a Saturday night. We ended up being the only guests for the time that we were there, which suited us just fine. The food was AWESOME! Both my husband and I throughly enjoyed our dinners. The fried plaintain "chips"and salsa for the appetizer was perfect and very fresh. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassava's also viewed

Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassava's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.