We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, but worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Joseph Lighthouses

St. Joseph Lighthouses
North Pier St, Saint Joseph, MI 49085
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family of four enjoyed seeing the lighthouses from Silver Beach and sought out to see them up close. Although they were a bit hard to find (ask someone!), my kids, ages 6 and 11, thought it was cool walking down the long pier to get a better look at them. My husband and I enjoyed the scenic aspects and appreciated the preservation of these historical landmarks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    21
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Channahon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Must see for any lighthouse lover.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It's a good walk down the pier to get to the lighthouse but worth it. Great views of the lake and the beaches from the pier. Fishing is permitted on the pier as well

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Pretty to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

You just need to walk a little bit to see the light houses. The area is really nice. It's a relaxing walk and there are lots of things to see around it. The water is so pretty.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallville, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overated 4th of July Fireworks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful Lighthouses and nice beach. We drove from South Haven Michigan to see the 4th of July fireworks show. For all the effort to get a great place to watch the show it was a disappointment. They said it was going to lit from the end of the pier, it wasn't...
We got their at 8pm and the show didn't start till 11pm. Only lasted about 20 minutes and was only OK. We paid 5 dollars to park and was an hour long traffic jam to get out of there for the hour long drive back to Granger, IN. Just not worth all the trouble. Next year we will go to South Haven.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice, but takes effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

It take a bit to find the park and it is a bit of a walk to the light, but you don't often get to touch a lighthouse

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Joseph Lighthouses also viewed

Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 

Been to St. Joseph Lighthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Joseph Lighthouses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.