We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth seeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Joseph Lighthouses

St. Joseph Lighthouses
North Pier St, Saint Joseph, MI 49085
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Attractions in Saint Joseph
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks
Attraction details
Syracuse, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The last time we were there we couldn't find the lighthouse. This time we stopped at the visitor center. It was beautiful, we loved walking all the way out to the lighthouse.The view was breath taking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    20
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for photographers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

St joes has beautiful lighthouses to walk down and visit or take some pictures. Just beware of the pee pee smell sometimes it seems the fisherman on the pier are too lazy to walk to a restroom. Sick I know!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You Light Up My Life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This lighthouse is picturesque and small scale. My favorite part is people watching and the friendly locals who fish off the pier and can talk off your ear. Others in my travel group liked the military helicopter fly-bys and watching the coast guard and other boats sail by. Well maintained (don't see a lot of graffiti for example). Would give it an EXCELLENT rating if you could go inside it. Shop locally for terrific photos taken at sunrise/sunset all seasons for fabulous memento even if you only ever see it in summer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nostalgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Yesterday we visited the lighthouse on the pier beside the mouth of the St Joseph River. This was a walk down memory lane for us. We first visited the lighthouse in December 1985--over 27 years ago. We had just moved to Berrien Springs from Australia. Our sons who are now 38,36, and 31 were with us. Yesterday we remembered them as chldren playing in the ice and snow that had been heaped up in unique sculptures by the wind. This is a special place for us as we used to come here to walk, to play, to fish, to swim. It has been well cared for over the years. They were clearing away the sand that had accumulated on the paths yesterday. Spring is just around the corner and this will soon be a beautiful place for families and couples to walk and enjoy the views over Lake Michigan. We love it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful lighthouse........Visit it in winter!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This in a wonderful lighthouse on The Lake Michigan. Take the path after Silver Beach and walk over The water unito you see The lighthouse. Esperienze The path in winter, when The water is pretta iced and The wind is so cold!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Joseph Lighthouses also viewed

Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 

Been to St. Joseph Lighthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Joseph Lighthouses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.