We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, Great improvements!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Silver Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Silver Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Main Street, Saint Joseph, MI 49085   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
michigan
1 review
“Great stay, Great improvements!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

We were somewhat reluctant to stay due to reviews, however upon arrival we spoke with the staff, had a look a around and thought we would give them a try. My husband and I were treated exceptionally well by the management, staff, and restaurant employees. All of the rooms were exceptionally nice, new mattresses, clean, and we were even given a room upgrade at no additional cost. As frequent travelers, this is one hotel we will definetely return to. This is in a great location with lots to see and do, good food, a must stay!

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    72
    72
    58
    114
See reviews for
122
110
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, IN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

We are out of town boaters who have used this hotel many times over the years. Previous times when we have stayed here we noticed the place going down hill. Yet this last summer we saw them doing some remodeling of the exterior by adding small balconies to each room. We decided to meet a bunch of boaters here for New Years Eve and we were pleasantly surprised that they have made major improvements since the last time we stayed. The rooms were cleaner and I believe have been remodeled. We did notice our bill was charged a fee for having a safety deposit box in our room but they removed this charge if you tell them you did not use it. Seems kind of silly. All in all our stay was much better than we expected and we are glad to see the improvements. We have already planned another stay over Feb. 16th for the Ice Carving Festival.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

My husband and our two kids stayed for an extended weekend. We were a bit weary after reading various reviews. I have to say, Im confused by some of the comments. Maybe things have been fixed but we saw no evidence of faulty anything. The room was clean and bright. The mattresses were huge pillowtops and the view from our room was priceless!! The front desk staff was very friendly and housekeeping polite. We stayed for three nights and we really got to know the staff. The Manager introduced herself and she told us a bit about town. After staying at six different hotels in the past four weeks, we all vote this one to be our favorite. They even have dog bicuits at the counter!! How cute!! We will be back.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicksburg
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2007

A total fire trap...elevators stick between floors...electrical and plumbing that does not work, and maintenance of critical equipment is performed by cleaning staff. Numerous safety violations exist, but owners use duct tape and paint to attempt to correct leaks. Buckets fall out of ceilings when they overflow with the drips. Prices fluctuate up to $199 per room, with ventilators and ac equipment that does not work....excuses..excuses are all you will hear from staff, except when they are screaming at each other in the halls. This place should be condemned. I have photos, but not worth the time to post.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — it's run by people that have no idea of
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

We have been going to this location for many years. It used to be a Holiday Inn, then St. Joseph Hotel, then a Clarion...We watched this hotel go "down hill" after a few years as the Clarion...We selected this hotel even with problems, simple because of its very convenient location. However, location is no longer important when everything else is horrible. Stained linens, bedspread..EK!, bathtubs that don't drain, toilets with broken seats, etc....Additionally, the last couple of times that we were there, one or the other elevators were not working. But the last time, two children under 11 years of age were stuck in an elevator. The staff did nothing (no call to Chicago owner nor call to the fire department). Guests were infuriated. Breakfast??? Forget it! Cost! Outlandish! There too many problems with this hotel. We are no longer a client. I stepped into this hotel this past September. Please, do not let the Lobby area deceive you...the problems are still there.
Remember, this is NO LONGER a Clarion Hotel...

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radonguy
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

I have been staying as this motel for 5 years, one or two weekends a year and it has gone way down hill since the last visit. I was receintly married so we decided to take a short honeymoon before our trip to California.Here is a list of what we encountered-

-hairdryer did not work
-comforter had large holes in it
-The bedframe stuck out 5-6" past the mattress and my wife gouged her shin on it and went through a lot of pain and bleeding
-The jacuuzi was not properly cleaned.
-Water stains on the ceiling.
-Crappy patches on the wallpaper to cover holes.
- Bathtub would barely drain so you had the pleasure of standing in 6" of dirty water.

I spoke directly to the staff at the front desk about the issues that needed to be addressed and was told that it would be taken care of right away. We left for the day and here we are at 6:00 pm and nothing has been touched. Oh, do not ask the staff for anything like a replacement hairdryer or and ashtray all you get is lip service.

The room was 179:00$ per night and I had to pay up front!!!!! Now I know why-everyone would leave after the first night. Totally ruined our short honeymoon-BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

I'm a bit baffled by the other reviews here. We stayed one night at this hotel, and found very little to complain about. Our room was on the 6th floor, for $89 it was excellent - clean and neat, large with a nice balcony with a partial lake view. No strange smells that we could detect! Bathroom was above average.
The only downside would be the front desk - one girl was being trained by a rather surly man, which made check in slow and laborious, but apart from that, everything was absolutely fine. I would recommend this hotel for its excellent location and good value.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — check-in
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Address: 100 Main Street, Saint Joseph, MI 49085
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Saint Joseph
Hotel Silver Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.