We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Silver Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Silver Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Main Street, Saint Joseph, MI 49085   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I pulled together a spur of the moment three day get-a-way. I was hesitant to stay at the Silver Beach based on some of the reviews. We took a gamble because we wanted to be able to walk most of the weekend. First understand this is a 40 year old hotel and not a five star resort. Room was nice, could update some of the furniture, but it was clean, staff was very nice. Ask for a lake view room above the 3rd floor. Ours was on the 6th (615) and we had a great view of the lake, harbor and inlet. You are a three block walk through the main shopping district to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view room above the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    72
    72
    58
    114
See reviews for
122
110
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This hotel made my daughters wedding super special! The care and concern they showed matched the best experience I have ever had in all my travels. I have traveled and stayed at the best hotels in various parts of the world, and I can say NO ONE has ever taken better care of all our needs! The rooms were the BEST St. Joseph offers, and the attention the staff gave was incredible! They even threw in a STRETCH LIMO (FULLY STOCKED!) for our use on the day of the wedding!!! The lobby, the helpfulness, and the rooms exceeded all our expectations. YOU have to give them a try! YOU wont be disappointed! We will post photos once the photographer has completed them! Great Job Silver Beach!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I've stayed at Silver Beach a couple of times. First time was Oct 2010. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had no problems checking in. I do recall an elevator being serviced, but the working one was not an issue. I used the pool and hot tub, and thought both were great. Hotel is close proximity to the downtown area and there is a lot of great restaurants and shops. We ate dinner at Schuh's which was delicious. Second time staying there in Apr 2011 we reserved the spa suite with a hot tub. For couple's looking for a romantic getaway, the spa suite was well worth it. The in room jacuzzi was very large. I'm looking forward to our next getaway there. I have suggested this place to friends too, who also enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Silver Beach Hotel in St. Joseph, MI in early October 2011. It was a very nice, friendly stay. The hotel is situated just a block from the street where all the shops and restaurants are. If you go another block you are on the edge of the bluff where the park benches and people watching is. Then you go down a flight of steps and you are entering the beach and other lakeshore attractions. That's the convienent part of the stay.

The hotel itself has an old world, classy feel to it. The staff was very friendly during check in and also when we came back late at night to our room. The lobby is very attractive and there is also a bar that is nice, too and the pool area looked inviting as well. (Don't forget to check out the elevator - it is very sparkly!) There is a buffet breakfast in the morning that is plenty good and filling.

The room was spacious and the bed and pillows were comfortable. All rooms have a balcony. But one thing: be sure to ask for a room above the 2nd floor - our 2nd floor room overlooked the garbage bins.

The price was much better than the Holiday Express and a much better location. We definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I decided to take a road trip with no particular destination in mind and we ended up passing through the town of St. Joseph and thought we'd stay the night.

Little did we know, there were a lot of events going on the weekend of our visit (08/12/11- 08/13/11) so the hotel pickings were slim and the prices were pretty high so our choices were limited since we got into town around 5 pm.

We were lucky to get room 614 at $219.24 after tax. I think regularly the rate would have been closer to $109 but again due to the Bass Lake Summer Festival, some type of triathlon, and a classic car exhibit we had little choice.

Pro's:
1. Location is GREAT. Everything is within walking distance. Quaint little shops, eateries, bars and beautiful beach are all a few minutes away.
2. Hot breakfast is included with your stay. They offer a make-shift buffet downstairs and serve cold cereal, juices, pastries, hot scrambled eggs, biscuits, ham bacon and you can even make your own waffles.
3. Pet-friendly hotel. I'm an animal lover so I appreciate this. They even have some parrots near the pool area but take care, they bite.
4. Bed was pretty comfortable
5. They offer Bath & Body products for the room amenities and there is a fridge and balcony (if you're lucky, you may get a lake view...we got a partial but it wasn't worth the extra cash)
6. Pool seemed nice and clean (didn't use it but appreciated the fact it was there...just in case)

Con's
1. Overpriced for what we got. You're really just paying for the location. The room was pretty basic, no frills, needed some updating.
2. TV had constant static and we couldn't really watch too many late night shows before we just gave up. We didn't bother reporting it since we were only staying one night and it was way into the early morning.
3. Loud AC kicked on every 2 minutes. If you're a light sleeper, this will drive you bonkers unless you've had some sleeping aids to help knock you out.
4.You get charged for the safe in your room but they don't tell you that--it's a check-out surprise.
5. Breakfast area was cramped and very outdated. They opened up a banquet room for extra seating but it was a mess. There were actual broken ceiling tiles that had fallen into a pile of rubble on the floor. Empty tables from previous guests hadn't been cleaned up and it was just dirty and sticky.

It's an ok hotel, when I re-visit this city, I'd definitely like to stay in a nicer place in the same location.

If you have the time and you know you're visiting St.Joseph, do your homework and check out the other hotels. Since we were on a road-trip with no plan, this was our best option in the moment of it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on their higher level facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

First impression, it needed an outside make-over, but who cares. I wasn't sleeping outside. The inside was nice. i found everyone that worked there very friendly. Everyone said hello. The room was fine, no problems or issues. We needed some salt later in the evening and a housekeeper was more than happy to go get it for us out of the breakfast room. Speaking of breakfast, it was so-so. No fruit, which was a drag, but everything else was a standard hotel breakfast. Good experience, will go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.louis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed here for a vaction from nyc jersey then st.joe which wasa swing through to see lake michigan. the photos I looked at on this page must be very old becasue our room looked nothing like thee. they were very nice the bathrooms were very clean and new curtains .i was very pleased. the breafast room was the only thing I seen that could use new carpet paint and get rid of the wall dressings they were very out of place. the lobby furniture looked nothing like the photo. it was very elegant.we loved it and have every intention of returning again

Room Tip: we stayed on fourth floor facing the lake very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Address: 100 Main Street, Saint Joseph, MI 49085
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Saint Joseph
Hotel Silver Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.