We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cancun Mexican Grill

Cancun Mexican Grill
2459 Ontario Dr, Saint Johns, MI 48879-8267
989-227-5800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Saint Johns
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very good but not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped in recently on a Saturday evening. The restaurant was busy but not full so we were seated immediately. Chips, salsa, and refried beans were brought immediately and our drink order was taken. They have a larger menu than most Mexican restaurants so you should be able to find what you want on their menu (a copy of the menu is on their website). The drinks were brought quickly and our order was taken. We were pre-warned that some of their margaritas are very large so be careful what size you order. Our food was very good and the good service continued throughout our stay.

Would I eat here again? Absolutely. While I did not consider the food to be the best I have ever had, it was very good. I especially liked their salsa and including refried beans with the chips was a nice touch. The service was excellent and the prices were good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Once again, absolutely tops!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We once again enjoyed this great place for a family dinner. The staff is always friendly and jovial. The food is delicious with generous portions. You need to eat here!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“We love this place for family dinners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We like mexican food. Our family believes that the Cancun chain of restaurants offer the best tasting mexican food in our area.

The environment is well lit and festive. Great place to get together with friends and family.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our family loves this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a favorite place for our family to get a great dinner. The seafood fajitas are awesome! If you want good Mexican food, this is place to eat! Try it for a Birthday and you will get to wear a BIG sombrero while you are being serenaded!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovid, Michigan, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cancun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

A mediocre meal one time, but think it had more to do with the cook! Service was good, presentation of meal not nearly what it could have been. But friends say it has improved dramatically.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cancun Mexican Grill also viewed

Saint Johns, Clinton County
Saint Johns, Clinton County
 
Saint Johns, Clinton County
Saint Johns, Clinton County
 

Been to Cancun Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cancun Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.