We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard HI Express” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   965 N. State St., Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Troy,MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Standard HI Express”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We are Holiday Inn Priority members and have stayed at many Holiday Inns. This time we booked our lakeview room through Orbitz. Upon checking in we were given a handicap room, right across from the laundry room, which we then promptly returned to the front desk for a new room. She then told us that since we booked through a third party site we only had certain rooms available to us! And that we should of booked through their website. Our second room was right next to the elevator and got a sore neck trying to view the lake from our room! It was only one night thankfully. So be aware if you book through a third party site, you will surely get the worst room in the place. If you do, approach the front desk for a new room...even through orbitz it was a pricy room. their booking process is skewed.
The hotel itself was standard Holiday Inn Express - clean, beds comfortable and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Laine9,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We strive everyday to create special experiences to our guests and we are sorry if some aspects of our hotel accommodation was not at par with your expectations. Your feedback will help us improve our services and offer a great experience for our guest.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    39
    19
    16
See reviews for
54
49
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Somehow this holiday inn was skipped over when the chain did all of their remodels a few years ago. I think it's because they can get away with it since it is such a tourist trap. If you aren't staying on the island you want somewhere close and cheap and holiday inn fits the bill. However the main level is actually the second floor and you will want a room on that level because the lower level has a funky/mildewy smell to it. We had two rooms and both rooms had lights that didn't work, and awful yellow florescent lighting for the bathroom mirror not good for getting ready. The staff was pleasant. We did not have the breakfast as there was an awesome cafe in the parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpN0rthGirl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
jenmor,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. If there is anything I can do please feel free to contact me at the hotel.

Rachel
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Poor customer service. Staff lied to me about the room being refundable. I subsequently cancelled and was still charged for the room. They hid behind corporate policy in order to pocket my money. They don't seem to understand that they are in the hospitality business. there are plenty of other choices and this won't be mine

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpN0rthGirl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Geoffrey S,

I am sorry that you are upset about the cancellation policy for your reservation. Most of our rooms are refundable up until three days prior to arrival at 3pm. The exceptions are Advance Purchase Reservations (also known as the Book Now and Save Program) and Smart Saver rates. The Advance Purchase and Smart Saver rooms are only available online as you must agree to the cancellation policy before booking those types of reservations.

As always if you ever have questions about a reservation when booking the hotel staff is always available to explain a policy or help you book.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This place would be perfect if it was closer to town. But, that's just us - we like to walk. Wonderful room with a fabulous view of the lake, small balcony just perfect to sit and enjoy a drink and relax while looking at the lake. Excellent, comfortable beds and linens -awesome pillows. Nice typical Hol.Inn Express breakfast - tasty and well stocked. Very crowded and busy. The place was booked solid. Friendly staff. Not sure we would stay here again, only because we'd rather be closer to the business district...it really is just a short drive, but a little too far to walk. Slept with the patio door open (screen) and enjoyed listening to the waves, and awoke to a spectacular sunrise.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a lake view - but ask to be sure. The view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpN0rthGirl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Location is one of those things that can be hard to get right. We are working with the downtown development authority to try and improve the sidewalks and lighting on our end of town. In the meantime there are always shuttles to the ferry docks and casino.

Once again thank you for staying and we all hope to see you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan USA
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Its a clean hotel with a better than average buffet breakfast. Many of the rooms have a nice bay view. I think it's a little pricey for it's location. A good place to stay before you venture over to Mac Island. Nice pool and hot tub. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lobby and elevators :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpN0rthGirl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in St. Ignace. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast the breakfast staff tries very hard to stay on top of what can be a very complex breakfast.

During peak season our rates are higher, especially on the weekends. We will always try and work with you on the rate and the rates do drop after Labor Day. September and October and beautiful and inexpensive times to visit St. Ignace.

Thank you once again for the review and choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed one night, but it was one of the most relaxing nights we had in a long time. We were on the 3rd floor facing the lake beautiful and the sunrise was spectacular. The bed was very comfortable I did not want to get out of it! The staff was awesome and helpful. Rates were reasonable for the room and view. Would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Checked in after a long work day. My room was on the water side, second floor. It was so nice and relaxing sitting on the balcony watching the freighters go out to open water and the ferries transporting to and from the island. The hotel is just far enough away to not hear the boats, only to watch them. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Looked like there may have been some rowdy guests in the past as there was a stain on the carpet and the shower curtain rod looks like it was repaired, but that is not anything that can be fixed easily. Reserved the room on-line so I believe I received a good deal - at least cheaper than posted.
I would recommend staying here although they are one of only a handful of Holiday Inn Express's that close down for the winter - if you are trying to make arrangements don't count on them in the off season.
Great stay, clean, quite, and relaxing!

Room Tip: Ask for a water front room, although I think most are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Address: 965 N. State St., Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Inn St. Ignace, Michigan. Conveniently located 1/2 mile from the Mackinac Island Ferry Docks and 5 miles from the Famous Mackinaw Bridge. While visiting St. Ignace there is plenty to see and visit, Fort Mackinac, the Mystery Spot, Castle Rock, Mackinac Crossings, Mill Creek, and Tahquamenon Falls are just a few great ideas for a great vacation. Great activities including the Lilac Festival, Antique Auto Show, Truck Show, and The Midnight Ride. Stay Smart and enjoy our indoor heated pool and spa and our free deluxe continental breakfast.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Holiday Inn St Ignace
Holiday Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.