We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating but great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   965 N. State St., Saint Ignace, MI 49781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Rockford, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Needs updating but great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I chose to stay in St. Ignace thinking the hotels were newer but that is not the case. Holiday Inn Express is my fav and they had rooms overlooking the water. Lobby is nice but when you walk to the elevators, you notice carpet has been here a while. My room is handicapable but dated. I can feel the mattress springs but bed is comfortable. Hotel is ok but am paying less than $70 for lake view so it works for me.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    39
    19
    16
See reviews for
54
49
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

A lake front hotel with a view of Mackinaw island. The hotel was clean. The front desk was helpful and friendly. I would stay there again when in the area. We also had a small balcony that over looked the lake.

Room Tip: I believe most rooms have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent a night here recently on our return from the UP. We rented a lakeview room, which came with a hot tub. The tub was in the living room, and evidently the carpet had gotten wet on a regular basis, because the smell of mold and mildew was overpowering. We were given a standard room after complaining, which at least didn't smell.
The whole facility is dated and dirty, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid the hot tub rooms at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear james f,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Staying in St. Ignace for our trip to Mackinac Island reduced our cost at least 30 percent over staying in Mackinaw City! And it was so much more relaxed, with a beautiful view. They also offer a combo package including ferry fix that can mean even more savings. Laid back, walkable history at your doorstep. Free parking at the ferry too! The hotel shows signs of updates and improvements coming, but it's certainly fine given that we were there to be out and about, not lounging around a hotel room! Oh, and it's pronounced IG-niss.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I was a little skeptical when I read some of the hotel reviews on another website (not named) as some people gave this hotel 2 stars or 2 1/2 stars. Those people must be used to staying at $400-$500 a night hotels. For $120 we got a room with a view of Lake Huron, 2 queen beds and a walk out to a sandy beach where the kids can play. If you wanna go in the water, that's fine, just being old tennis shoes or water shoes cause it's really rocky. The sand box area is right before the rocky shores. Staff was nice and the pool and jacuzzi were great as well. Nice holiday inn express and we will be definitely coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I was nervous about staying here after reading some of the reviews, but the Intercontinental Hotel rebate offer convinced me to try it. The hotel is older, but there are signs stating that there will be some refurbishing in 2013. Referring to a prior review, the business center now has a printer which I did use.

Our stay turned out just fine. The first room we checked into had a problem with little flying insects, apparently from the previous occupant leaving the screen door open (beware!). We were promptly moved to an upgraded king room with a spa - this room was so spacious. The view of Lake Huron and Mackinac Island was great. Breakfast was standard HI Express which was fine by me. We didn't use the pool but noticed a lot of guests using it. The hotel was close to the ferries and Mackinac Bridge. Touring the Mackinac area, you have to watch out for birds and bird droppings, and the rocky beach of this hotel was no different.

Overall I think the hotel is fine for the St Ignace area. It will be nicer after the planned renovations next year.

Room Tip: choose the lake front rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Upon reading all the reviews for this hotel I reluctantly reserved a room for 3 days. I am soooo glad we stayed here. We had the most beautiful view!!! The kids enjoyed finding unique rocks, which yes the beaches here are ALL rocky, if people took the time to learn about this place Lake Huron is rocky, Lake Michigan is beachy, so if want a sandy beach, your at the wrong lake. We were close to town and the ferry. Our room was clean and housekeeping arranged my daughters stuffed animals in the cutest manner at the end of her bed. The beds were very comfortable too. We truly enjoyed our stay with the unspoiled natural surroundings, even the birds, who do live in nature. Not sure where others expect them to be? Loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Address: 965 N. State St., Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Inn St. Ignace, Michigan. Conveniently located 1/2 mile from the Mackinac Island Ferry Docks and 5 miles from the Famous Mackinaw Bridge. While visiting St. Ignace there is plenty to see and visit, Fort Mackinac, the Mystery Spot, Castle Rock, Mackinac Crossings, Mill Creek, and Tahquamenon Falls are just a few great ideas for a great vacation. Great activities including the Lilac Festival, Antique Auto Show, Truck Show, and The Midnight Ride. Stay Smart and enjoy our indoor heated pool and spa and our free deluxe continental breakfast.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Holiday Inn St Ignace
Holiday Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.